Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th March 2008, 18:48
Brandorr Brandorr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default XEN + Ultramonkey (in a DomU)

Thinking I might want to get two massive boxes (8-Core 32GB RAM) and run Ultramonkey in two smallish XEN VMs (one on each physical host). They would perform loadbalancing duties for other XEN VMs on the two XEN nodes.

Is this doable?

Thanks,
Brian
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th March 2008, 18:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Yes, no problem. But AFAIK, there's no Ultramonkey version for Etch, so you might want to try one of these solutions:
http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...at-debian-etch
http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...ed-debian-etch
http://www.howtoforge.com/haproxy_lo...er_debian_etch
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th March 2008, 18:43
Brandorr Brandorr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Etch isn't mandatory. What are the preferred distros for running Ultramonkey?

Thanks,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th March 2008, 14:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandorr
What are the preferred distros for running Ultramonkey?

Thanks,
Brian
Debian Sarge which is the predecessor of Etch...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
copying a xen domu to test server ?? ubutux HOWTO-Related Questions 2 5th March 2008 13:43
Centos5 - Xen - DomU with LVM jgijsen HOWTO-Related Questions 2 27th February 2008 11:57
XEN i386 DomU in AMD64 Dom0 ??? andreash Kernel Questions 1 24th May 2007 18:10
Xen question, backup domU rayit HOWTO-Related Questions 2 25th August 2006 16:34
Is it possible to start a domU from Xen 2.x under Xen 3.0? Gurke666 Kernel Questions 1 25th April 2006 16:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.