Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th March 2008, 23:49
lolmannz lolmannz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Direct url to user websites?

Hi guys, I read this somewhere before but now I cant find it, but what is the url to access the domains and subdomains from the main server without using their domain?

e.g. yourserver.com/~users/ or something?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th March 2008, 00:03
daveb daveb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 272
Thanks: 43
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Default

http://www.domain.tld/~testuser/
or
http://www.domain.tld/users/testuser/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th March 2008, 00:15
lolmannz lolmannz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm is "testuser" supposed to be "web2" or the domain?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th March 2008, 00:28
daveb daveb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 272
Thanks: 43
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Default

testuser = user name "web2_name"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th March 2008, 00:43
lolmannz lolmannz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm, still doesn't work for me.

I have a domain say: happydomain.tld and I made a user called "admin" for that domain.

so it came up with web2_admin as the user.

I tried http://www.myserver.com/~web2_admin/
and http://www.myserver.com/users/web2_admin/

I got 404 Not found
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th March 2008, 01:00
daveb daveb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 272
Thanks: 43
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Wait sorry I misunderstood you I thought you was trying to access the users webs for a site. I dont belive you can access a web with out domain name.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th March 2008, 18:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb
I dont belive you can access a web with out domain name.
That's right. You must use the correct domain/hostname for that web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacking attack (ubuntu 7.04 server + local root exploit on kernel) smoko General 4 15th September 2013 05:05
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Anything I can do against illegal login-requests? schmidtedv Installation/Configuration 17 7th November 2008 09:25
Ruby / FastCGI Problem Chad Server Operation 1 8th March 2008 20:38
log files cruz Technical 3 15th May 2007 14:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.