Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th June 2006, 01:24
EnDLeSs EnDLeSs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Getting the website Up

Ok so I already have a domain name that is registered and working. How would I figure out what the Name Servers of my Server PC is? So I can change it in the Registered Domain name I already have?

I can login in as a user when I create a normal user. But I can not access the "Web-FTP" in the user control panel. It asks to login but when I do it says "Could not connect as user endless"

One last thing. How Would I figure out the FTP information for the user I created. SO I can use a FTP Client to login and upload etc...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th June 2006, 13:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnDLeSs
Ok so I already have a domain name that is registered and working. How would I figure out what the Name Servers of my Server PC is? So I can change it in the Registered Domain name I already have?
I don't understand the question.
If you wait two or three days, I'll publish a tutorial that shows how you can run your own name servers with ISPConfig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnDLeSs
One last thing. How Would I figure out the FTP information for the user I created. SO I can use a FTP Client to login and upload etc...
[/SIZE][/FONT]
The hostname can be any FQDN or IP address that is pointing to your server. The username is something like web1_user.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th June 2006, 23:17
EnDLeSs EnDLeSs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I mean is how would I get the "ns1.example.com" and "ns2.example.com"
for my pc. So I can upadate the name servers on the domain I purchased. And host it myself on my PC server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th June 2006, 23:53
EvanCarroll EvanCarroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnDLeSs
What I mean is how would I get the "ns1.example.com" and "ns2.example.com"
for my pc. So I can upadate the name servers on the domain I purchased. And host it myself on my PC server.
apt-get install bind9

man bind
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th June 2006, 09:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnDLeSs
What I mean is how would I get the "ns1.example.com" and "ns2.example.com"
for my pc. So I can upadate the name servers on the domain I purchased. And host it myself on my PC server.
If you installed your server according to one of the perfect setup howtos, your server is already running bind.

Then login to ISPConfig and add an SOA record in the ISPConfig DNS-Manager. For some basic understanding of the DNS system, I can recommend this howto:

http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th June 2006, 11:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

I will publish a tutorial about how to use ISPConfig for name servers in the next two or three days.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th June 2006, 08:34
EnDLeSs EnDLeSs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I will publish a tutorial about how to use ISPConfig for name servers in the next two or three days.
Ok just post back here and let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th June 2006, 23:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Here it is: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th June 2006, 03:24
EnDLeSs EnDLeSs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is this still achievable if you only have on server and one ip address?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th June 2006, 10:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnDLeSs
Is this still achievable if you only have on server and one ip address?
Yes, just use your IP / domain of the server as primary and secondary DNS. The only thing I dont know if Godaddy maybe refuses to to save the record when primary and secondary DNS are identical.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URGENT: move website to other customer trueshanti Installation/Configuration 8 29th August 2006 13:58
Mysql assignation to a new website jeanjacquesjeanjacques Installation/Configuration 4 30th January 2006 17:53
debianhelp new website - www.debianhelp.co.uk gg234 Installation/Configuration 0 5th November 2005 18:18
Second website not coming up. nagual Installation/Configuration 1 5th November 2005 01:33
Creating website - nothing happens hagel Installation/Configuration 13 7th August 2005 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.