Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Kernel Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 3rd April 2006, 19:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you see any error message?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 4th April 2006, 18:04
coolvik coolvik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

yes I do.


when booting up this is written right before it stops:
Code:
mkdir: cannot create directory '/devfs/VG': Read-only file system
mount: unknown filesystem type 'devfs'
   Unable to find volume group 'VG'
unmount: /dev: not mounted
unmount: devfs: not mounted
mount: unknown filesystem type 'devfs'
JFS: nTxBlock = 8192, nTxLock = 65536
unmount: devfs: not mounted
pivot_root: No such file or directory
/sbin/init: 432: cannot open /dev/console: No such file
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
And after that it hangs, I've to reset the server.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 4th April 2006, 18:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I've fond this link: http://lists.debian.org/debian-amd64.../msg00848.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 4th April 2006, 18:57
coolvik coolvik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

thanks for the reply.

I just want to say that this is the first time I've compiled a kernel.

I tried what was suggested as in: http://lists.debian.org/debian-amd64.../msg00854.html

But I get the same error message when booting up.

Edit: Im not using AMD64 version of Debian.

Last edited by coolvik; 4th April 2006 at 19:04.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11th April 2006, 12:35
unkn0wn unkn0wn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i flllow the instructions i remote recompile 2.6.14 with grsec but achine dont respond

but i can ping it.
i think 2.6 change run level to some other mode with minimal network?

your ideas?

ok
i check there is no error (on first look) system is booting corectly
i log on machnine (not remote) normaly but sshd is notstarted simple there is no services?? i try /etc/initd.d/ssh but there is no output??? just back me to prompt

Last edited by unkn0wn; 11th April 2006 at 13:22.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11th April 2006, 14:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkn0wn
i check there is no error (on first look) system is booting corectly
i log on machnine (not remote) normaly but sshd is notstarted simple there is no services?? i try /etc/initd.d/ssh but there is no output??? just back me to prompt
Anything in the logs? Any errors in the output of
Code:
dmesg
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12th April 2006, 07:36
unkn0wn unkn0wn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i compile it again with same steps.
but i put in /etc/fstab /sys sysfs and now its working
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 18th April 2006, 08:03
Jamesk5 Jamesk5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've got a problem - I'm new to debian, and did an apt-get upgrade to upgrade stuff that needed to be done.
It upgraded the kernel, and now I can't boot - I've got the same error as some others, where it wont find /dev/hda1.
Here's a copy of my menu.lst
# menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
# grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
# grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
# and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.

## default num
# Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
# the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
#
# You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
# is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
# WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not change this entry to 'saved' or your
# array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
default 0

## timeout sec
# Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
# (normally the first entry defined).
timeout 5

# Pretty colours
color cyan/blue white/blue

## password ['--md5'] passwd
# If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
# control (menu entry editor and command-line) and entries protected by the
# command 'lock'
# e.g. password topsecret
# password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
# password topsecret

#
# examples
#
# title Windows 95/98/NT/2000
# root (hd0,0)
# makeactive
# chainloader +1
#
# title Linux
# root (hd0,1)
# kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
#

#
# Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST

### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below

## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs

## ## Start Default Options ##
## default kernel options
## default kernel options for automagic boot options
## If you want special options for specific kernels use kopt_x_y_z
## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
## kopt_2_6_8=root=/dev/hdc1 ro
## kopt_2_6_8_2_686=root=/dev/hdc2 ro
# kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro

## default grub root device
## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
# groot=(hd0,0)

## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
## e.g. alternative=true
## alternative=false
# alternative=true

## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
## e.g. lockalternative=true
## lockalternative=false
# lockalternative=false

## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
## alternatives
## e.g. defoptions=vga=791 resume=/dev/hda5
# defoptions=

## altoption boot targets option
## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
## altoptions=(recovery mode) single
# altoptions=(recovery mode) single

## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
## alternative kernel options
## e.g. howmany=all
## howmany=7
# howmany=all

## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
## e.g. memtest86=true
## memtest86=false
# memtest86=true

## ## End Default Options ##

title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.15-1-486
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1-486 root=/dev/hda1 ro
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-1-486
savedefault
boot

title Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.15-1-486 (recovery mode)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1-486 root=/dev/hda1 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-1-486
savedefault
boot

### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST


This is probably going to make me sound like a real n00b, but I haven't changed the initrd from the .img-2.6.15......... to 16, because there is no img file in /boot for the new kernel.
Any advice?? Like I said, I can't boot into debia, so I'm in pretty unfamilular territory now, except for a trusty knoppix boot disk.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 18th April 2006, 10:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesk5
This is probably going to make me sound like a real n00b, but I haven't changed the initrd from the .img-2.6.15......... to 16, because there is no img file in /boot for the new kernel.
I don't see a 2.6.16 kernel in your menu.lst...
Anyway, you can create a ramdisk like this:

Code:
cd /boot/
mkinitrd -o /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8.1 2.6.8.1
(this example is for a 2.6.8.1 kernel, adjust it to your needs).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 19th April 2006, 10:24
Jamesk5 Jamesk5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I don't see a 2.6.16 kernel in your menu.lst...
Anyway, you can create a ramdisk like this:

Code:
cd /boot/
mkinitrd -o /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8.1 2.6.8.1
(this example is for a 2.6.8.1 kernel, adjust it to your needs).

Can I make a RAM disk outside of being in Debian - If so, will knoppix work, and do I just use the usual bash prompt?
Also, what kernel number should I use, I'm not sure what it updated to - is there any way I can find out in system logs or something??

Thanks heaps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.