Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st September 2006, 05:52
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default GoDaddy and ISPConfig

Hi,

I have followed the post by falko on how to setup the nameserver with GoDaddy and ISPConfig.

When I get up to the stage dig ns1.ibtaus.info I get the following;

server1:~ # dig ns1.ibtaus.info

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> ns1.ibtaus.info
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27982
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns1.ibtaus.info. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns1.ibtaus.info. 1484 IN A 203.173.40.87

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
ibtaus.info. 2441 IN NS park29.secureserver.net.
ibtaus.info. 2441 IN NS park30.secureserver.net.

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 203.0.178.191#53(203.0.178.191)
;; WHEN: Fri Sep 1 12:48:36 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

and for dig ns2.ibtaus.info, I get the following;

server1:~ # dig ns2.ibtaus.info

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> ns2.ibtaus.info
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 12675
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns2.ibtaus.info. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns2.ibtaus.info. 1360 IN A 203.0.178.191

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
ibtaus.info. 2249 IN NS park30.secureserver.net.
ibtaus.info. 2249 IN NS park29.secureserver.net.

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 203.0.178.191#53(203.0.178.191)
;; WHEN: Fri Sep 1 12:51:48 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

which looks a bit different to the one on the howto guide. Just wondering if this is normal? Thank you

gorolla
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st September 2006, 07:22
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorolla
Hi,

I have followed the post by falko on how to setup the nameserver with GoDaddy and ISPConfig.

When I get up to the stage dig ns1.ibtaus.info I get the following;

server1:~ # dig ns1.ibtaus.info

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> ns1.ibtaus.info
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27982
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns1.ibtaus.info. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns1.ibtaus.info. 1484 IN A 203.173.40.87

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
ibtaus.info. 2441 IN NS park29.secureserver.net.
ibtaus.info. 2441 IN NS park30.secureserver.net.

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 203.0.178.191#53(203.0.178.191)
;; WHEN: Fri Sep 1 12:48:36 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

and for dig ns2.ibtaus.info, I get the following;

server1:~ # dig ns2.ibtaus.info

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> ns2.ibtaus.info
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 12675
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns2.ibtaus.info. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns2.ibtaus.info. 1360 IN A 203.0.178.191

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
ibtaus.info. 2249 IN NS park30.secureserver.net.
ibtaus.info. 2249 IN NS park29.secureserver.net.

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 203.0.178.191#53(203.0.178.191)
;; WHEN: Fri Sep 1 12:51:48 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

which looks a bit different to the one on the howto guide. Just wondering if this is normal? Thank you

gorolla
Did you tell Godaddy that you wanted to use these two as your DNS servers as per the directions? Everything looks good to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2006, 09:01
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Rocky for your fast reply,

I have encounter another problem with the howto guide from falko. I have followed step by step on the howto guide for setting up the nameserver. Everthing seems fine till I get to the stage to test with dig @ns1.ibtaus.com any sany.com.au, I get the following error;

server1:/etc/postfix # dig @ns1.ibtaus.com any sany.com.au

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> @ns1.ibtaus.com any sany.com.au
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Can anyone tell me how to fix this? Thank you very much for your help.

gorolla
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2006, 12:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please try:

dig @localhost any sany.com.au
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2006, 03:22
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi till,

Thank you for your reply, the result I got is as followed;

server1:~ # dig @localhost any sany.com.au

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> @localhost any sany.com.au
; (2 servers found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 17648
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;sany.com.au. IN ANY

;; Query time: 2 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Tue Sep 5 10:20:02 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 29

server1:~ #

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2006, 11:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please check your syslog for errors and post the output of:

netstat -tap

Do you get any errors when you restart bind?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th September 2006, 03:09
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi till,

Yes, I got the following error when I restart BIND,

server1:/var/log # /etc/init.d/named restart
/etc/named.conf:48: zone 'ssfygifts.com': already exists previous definition: /etc/named.conf:38
skipped

The following is my named.conf;

options {
pid-file "/var/lib/named/var/run/named/named.pid";
directory "/var/lib/named";
auth-nxdomain no;
/*
* If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
* to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
* directive below. Previous versions of BIND always asked
* questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
* port by default.
*/
// query-source address * port 53;
};

//
// a caching only nameserver config
//
zone "." {
type hint;
file "root.hint";
};

zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" {
type master;
file "127.0.0.zone";
};

zone "40.173.203.in-addr.arpa" {
type master;
file "pri.40.173.203.in-addr.arpa";
};


zone "ibtaus.info" {
type master;
file "pri.ibtaus.info";
};
zone "ssfygifts.com" {
type master;
file "pri.ssfygifts.com";
};

zone "ssfygifts.com" {
type slave;
file "sec.ssfygifts.com";
masters { 203.173.40.87; };
};


//// MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ////

and the following is my netstat -tap;

server1:/var/log # netstat -tap
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost:mysql *:* LISTEN 3098/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 4313/portmap
tcp 0 0 localhost:cryptoadmin *:* LISTEN 4688/fam
tcp 0 0 *:hosts2-ns *:* LISTEN 4381/ispconfig_http
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 5309/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 12319/master
tcp 0 0 *op3 *:* LISTEN 4476/couriertcpd
tcp 0 0 *:imap *:* LISTEN 4454/couriertcpd
tcp 0 0 *:www-http *:* LISTEN 5151/httpd2-prefork
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 4519/sshd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 12319/master
tcp 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 5151/httpd2-prefork
tcp 0 148 server1.ibtaus.info:ssh 192.168.1.65%10738:1140 ESTABLISHED 10757/0
server1:/var/log #

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th September 2006, 09:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

You cannot create a master and a slave zone on the same system. It also makes no sense because a slave is a fallback if the primary server fails - therefore it should be on a different machine. But as your primary and secondary DNS are the same machine none of the records will be available if the server goes down so the slave zone is redundant. Please delete the slave zone ssfygifts.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th September 2006, 04:01
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks falko,

I misunderstood your howto guide so I put both in the same server. Thank you.

gorolla
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th September 2006, 05:26
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi guys,

Sorry to annoy you once again regarding this issue. I only have 1 server with ISPConfig installed and 1 public IP at the moment. Can I still built a nameserver for webhosting out of it? Because I have a problem setting up my domain name, since they only allow me to setup the nameserver only, no DNS control at all.

I read on the post:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...6317#post36317

but I think they uses 2 public IPs here.

Thanks for your great help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig and Godaddy Rocky Installation/Configuration 1 30th August 2006 17:30
504 Bad gateway, Fedoracore 5 ISPconfig main3 Installation/Configuration 12 20th August 2006 12:38
How To Run Your Own Name Servers With ISPConfig And GoDaddy willebanks HOWTO-Related Questions 3 20th July 2006 14:08
godaddy and centos 4.3 setup with single ip on dsl using ispconfig sethtat HOWTO-Related Questions 3 21st June 2006 02:34
ISP-Ubuntu breezy ispconfig dns email e-mail working finally yellowjelly HOWTO-Related Questions 0 19th November 2005 21:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.