#1  
Old 8th February 2008, 01:26
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Edit databases

Is there a way for people to edit their own databases?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th February 2008, 08:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

Yes, with phpmyadmin. Just install the phpmyadmin pacakge for ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2008, 12:35
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what username and password do I have them enter? I tried using the site's admin username and password and it didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2008, 12:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

The username and password that you used to create the database on the options tab of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
dayjahone (9th February 2008)
  #5  
Old 22nd February 2008, 13:44
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there a way to give them SSH access to their databases?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd February 2008, 14:51
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 172 Times in 77 Posts
Default

ssh to Database?
What do you mean by this? that People are able to execute MySQL commands through command line instead of the web browser?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd February 2008, 14:57
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes. I've seen hosting services that offer SSH.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd February 2008, 15:01
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 172 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Ok, so yes you can enable ssh for your users. But this is not always a good idea, as a locale user can do a lot of things. But if you really want SSH you can use the ssh chroot trick.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd February 2008, 15:09
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I only want them to have access to their stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd February 2008, 15:14
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 172 Times in 77 Posts
 
Default

So chrooting is the right way to go.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about backing up two databases cruz Installation/Configuration 0 17th November 2007 20:50
[Bug] When edit a rr record. spirre General 1 23rd July 2007 13:19
BUG counting reseller's databases Davide Installation/Configuration 4 11th August 2006 08:45
site - databases trueshanti Installation/Configuration 20 26th May 2006 01:28
Recovering unlinked mysql databases and users... Dave Lane Installation/Configuration 2 10th May 2006 19:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.