Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th April 2006, 12:52
todvard todvard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default zlib and bzip support in PHP

Hello,

i have a small problem with php in ISPConfig, it is compiled without zlib and bzip support. It could lead to problems when one trying to use phpmyadmin's export/import compression feature. After recompiling php with "--with-zlib --with-bz2" it started to work. If this is not interfering with ISPconfig then it would be nice to make it enabled in next versions.

Thank you,
Tod.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th April 2006, 16:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

It's not interfering with ISPConfig, but these switches have some dependencies (i.e., zlib must be installed, bzip2 must be installed), and we want to have a PHP5 that compiles on as much computers as possible. For example, on a computer where no bzip2 is installed, --with-bz2 will fail.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th May 2006, 00:32
Norman Norman is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Aha.. so that is why phpmyadmin goes into a loop and hicups at 99% usage on the ispconfig_httpd process?

Can't we just have a switch to handle bzip at install? Check for bzip and if so activate for compilation.
__________________
http://www.xh.se
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th May 2006, 18:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman
Aha.. so that is why phpmyadmin goes into a loop and hicups at 99% usage on the ispconfig_httpd process?

Can't we just have a switch to handle bzip at install? Check for bzip and if so activate for compilation.
phpMyAdmin doesn't offer to bzip2 SQL dumps if there's no bzip2 support in PHP...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2007, 14:39
jang jang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well maybe phpMyAdmin doesn't offer gzip compression for SQL, but still it does offer Open Document download, for which gzip-compression is needed.
It doesn't work now and will confuse customers.

My main Apache PHP-module has gz and bz support.

I think the switch Norman supposed is a good thing, it will enhance phpMyAdmin for most people.

If I want to update my ISPconfig to 2.2.9, how should I do it to enable gzip/bz support in phpmyadmin.


Thx,

Jang
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th February 2007, 17:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jang
If I want to update my ISPconfig to 2.2.9, how should I do it to enable gzip/bz support in phpmyadmin.


Thx,

Jang
You must compile gzip/bz support into ISPConfig's PHP5. The configure statement for ISPConfig's PHP5 is in install_ispconfig/compile_aps/compile.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th February 2007, 18:39
jang jang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thx Falko,

I've added --with-zlib and now I've got gz compression in phpMyAdmin.
It's awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th June 2007, 14:58
edison edison is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,

I have the same problem (no gzip in phpmyadmin).

Can you indicate to me the procedure (how to) for recompile PHP with these options.


I have Debian 4, PHP 5, ISPconfig 2.2.13 with some sites in production.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th June 2007, 16:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

The configure statement for ISPConfig's PHP5 is in install_ispconfig/compile_aps/compile. Just adjust it to your needs.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th June 2007, 18:22
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

It would be nice to offer switched to the installer to allow gzip xml, etc to pass on to the compile stage. It would make things much easier for those of us with special requirements for IPSConfigs PHP subsystem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.