Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd March 2009, 01:13
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default ISPConfig 2.2.30 upgrade SSL ERROR!

Hello,

Just upgraded from 2.2.29 to 2.2.30

I get (Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

when i try to access the admin panel from an external network

PLEASE HELP
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2009, 11:35
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,020
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Looks as if you run the update more then once or that your ssl cert has been corrupted. This is easy to fix, just run these commands:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...58&postcount=4
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2009, 18:53
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default ssl cert instructions

openssl genrsa -des3 -passout pass:yourpassword -out /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key2 1024
openssl req -new -passin pass:yourpassword -passout pass:yourpassword -key /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key2 -out /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.csr/server.csr -days 365
openssl req -x509 -passin pass:yourpassword -passout pass:yourpassword -key /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key2 -in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.csr/server.csr -out /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt -days 365
openssl rsa -passin pass:yourpassword -in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key2 -out /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key
chmod 400 /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key


Should it really be server.key2 or just server.key?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd March 2009, 19:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

server.key2
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th March 2009, 00:24
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re-issued new cert already

I re-issued the certificate again and everything works just the same with the same problems.

I had downgraded to 2.2.29 and then nothing worked

re-upgraded to 2.2.30 and then used a sysdb.sql backup to restore the ispconfigdb

and now it goes to the apache2-default "it works" page

I am willing to pay for some help...I may lose a big 20,000 USD client if I cant get it up by tomorrow morning.

I couldnt even access the panel after the re-upgrade...changed the vhosts file with the old one and i could access the panel but all the domains still go to the apache2 default it works page

How could this happen just by downgrading!? I'm so stressed out i cant see straight.

All I care about is not losing my clients web data.

Does anybody have a clear tutorial on how to restore an ISPConfig backup?

BTW...I did issue the SSL cert commands before i downgraded and it still gave me the "Error - certificate too long" error with an eight character passphrase btw...

I couldnt access ISPConfig except from the internal network after the upgrade to 2.2.30

now it works when i access it directly through https://www.domain.com:81 when i changed the vhosts file in the /root/ispconfig, or httpd or whatever to an older one

but the websites still dont show....co-domains dont redirect....it's like ispconfig is not even functional.

I backed up ISPConfig sysdb.zip earlier...so i backed that up....I also have an export.csv but not sure if i have to import that or not because i cant find documentation.

I'm in danger of having to sell my office and go out of business if I cannot get ISPConfig restored by tonight! .....

Please help anybody!

Hell....I backed up the ispconfig master data, the web data, the database data....everything but the log data.....there's gotta be a way to restore it right?

Thanks to all care....I'll get u back....or pay u straight up front

AIM: kminore
skype: khayjake
phone: 913-825-9339
email:khayjake@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th March 2009, 00:52
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,020
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

The probem was that you tried to downgrade which messed up your database, better you would have asked here with your SSL error as this would have been fixed easily before the downgrade. But even with a broken database the sites on the webserver are never affected and will work so you must have done something else too that caused the websites to go down.

I can take a look at your system if you send me the login details by email to support [at] projektfarm [dot] de
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th March 2009, 07:12
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default Database FIXED!

Hey,

I just got an email asking for my resignation so I'm pretty much fired. I have only been with ISPConfig since 2.2.17 and recommended ispconfig as an alternative to plesk on version 2.2.24 of ispconfig.....but that hardly matters now...2.2.30 got me canned.

They're moving to plesk but im too poor without a job to do anything....so i dont have to worry about their 2,000+ just my 100 or so users......

I fixed the ISPConfig Database and all sites are accessible but the Co-Domains do not work.

They all omit :81

https://www.domain.com:81 will redirect to https://www.domain.com and suchforth....https://www.domain.com:81/mailuser will redirect to https://www.domain.com/mailuser without the :81

I already got fired because of this so don't expect to get paid now....

I can spare about 20 bucks now..... ....no one's fault but my own.....I put it on production servers because it said stable... and i just feel bad because my gawd.....i just got that job at the release of 2.2.25....not to long ago and blam, everything works perfect until now.

I guess no one can access their webmail or admin panel on all of their sites.....since they were created as Co-Domains instead of regular ones with their own webpace (like webmail.www.domain.com and webmail.domain.com...stewpid, but woulda saved my job)

Have a good one,
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BTW, I've got the following ISPConfig .pkg's for sale for $5 USD until i find a new job.....are as follows:

ISPConfig_Billing_v2.pkg
(Based off Grandpagenocides billing software 1.0 with major bug fixes and enhancements - New Installation Process/Menu - Integrated with remoting framework .pkg 4.2.1
Horde.pkg (imp.pkg etc....mail suite pkg's for ISPConfig)
autosignup.pkg (remoting framework utils for autosignup customization independent of a database)
JOOMLA!ISPConfig-installer.pkg (Installs Joomla CMS Framework on ISPConfig Site)
DRUPAL-ISPCONFIG-installer.pkg (Installs Joomla CMS Framework on ISPConfig Site)

Only tested on:

Debian Etch/Sid
Fedora Core/Redhat

All other linux or windows distro's these plugins are untested.

If anyone can help me it's all yours no cost.

AIM: kminore
skype: khayjake
email: khayjake@gmail.com


Thanks guys


kextra1

Last edited by kextra1; 24th March 2009 at 07:58.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th March 2009, 09:31
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,020
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
https://www.domain.com:81 will redirect to https://www.domain.com and suchforth....https://www.domain.com:81/mailuser will redirect to https://www.domain.com/mailuser without the :81
ISPConfig does not forward port 81 traffic to port 443 if you did not add such a redirect rule manually. What exactly did you enter in the redirect field?

Quote:
I guess no one can access their webmail or admin panel on all of their sites.....since they were created as Co-Domains instead of regular ones with their own webpace (like webmail.www.domain.com and webmail.domain.com...stewpid, but woulda saved my job)
Thats fully correct. A co-domain is a regular domain alias for the site and you can forward it to another URL with the forward field.

Quote:
I can spare about 20 bucks now..... ....no one's fault but my own.....I put it on production servers because it said stable... and i just feel bad because my gawd.....i just got that job at the release of 2.2.25....not to long ago and blam, everything works perfect until now.
ISPConfig 2 is absolutely stable. It is the most widely used Opensource Hosting Control Panel and installed of a few thousands of servers. The update of a ispconfig system does not fail as long as you do not run out of disk space during update and as long as you did not remove any libraries after you installed ispconfig the first time. And even then ISPConfig creates a backup automatically before it updates itself that can be restored in a minute.

But beside that, if this server is so important then you would run at least a full backup of the whole server per day which can be used in case of an error to restore the system. What would you have done when the harddisk had failed?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 24th March 2009 at 10:39.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th March 2009, 07:19
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default Fixed

I found the error via Hans and Falko.

Nothing to do with SQL. You sound offended Till, I apologize if i offended you....to answer your question, I was hired by this firm on 2.2.18 no 25....had done work for them since i started promoting and telling everyone about ISPConfig. I got under alot of stress because the top dog at this company had just changed and put me under the dime...not ur fault...relax...just the way they had their systems set up it didnt work....had mine setup on a mimic of theirs. Thanks, and much respect to the ISPConfig cp

You see though...the fix i was given....was something i was bitching about long ago....your Co-Domains...and the difference inbetween the dumbass co-domains and subdomains.

Well let me see...if i wanted ispconfig.com to go to ispconfig.org i could forward it to the site....nope...wouldnt take it unless it was ssl.....or an https site.....at least last time i tried version 2.2.27-8- and 9......so i created all my redirects as co-domains instead of subdomains to the ispconfig panel and all ispconfig pkg's....u see my delima?

The fix they offered....wouldnt even work unless i deleted all the codomains and the fisshy script would make them subdomains...pssshhhttt

Maybe using Co-Domains for

admin.domain.com
mailuser.domain.com
webmail.domain.com

Maybe....It is a bug i found which allowed me to create redirects with co-domains without having to create new webspace for a dummie subdomain with undeeded webspace as a subdomain?

Seriously...some people say...a co-domain is the same as a subdomain...others....not so much.....just need to know what Co-Domains do that createing another domain as a subdomain wouldnt do?

That's what I thought they were there for

when i applied:
if($domain_weiterleitung_url_parts['port']) $domain["domain_weiterleitung"] .= ':'.$domain_weiterleitung_url_parts['port'];

It fixed my problem...however I want the SSL Cert to be used as a RapidSSL Cert.

So do I use /root/ispconfig/httpd/confg/ssl.crt/server.crt for the cert?

or do i use /etc/postfix/ssl/server.cert for the SSL cert? When I put the info in RapidSSL under Apache + OpenSSL



Thanks again guys,

extra

Last edited by kextra1; 28th March 2009 at 09:01. Reason: RapidSSL for port 81/443 access
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th March 2009, 09:04
kextra1 kextra1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 12
Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default rapidssl

No new info on what i should put in rapidssl to have my default ispconfig cert correct based on whats been said?

Need to have Rapid SSL cert file correct so that I can have it recognized when users access anything:

https://www.domain.com:81/*
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig Upgrade error gili Installation/Configuration 6 11th October 2008 19:47
Problem installing ISPConfig on Suse10.1 nliebherr Installation/Configuration 18 14th September 2007 01:30
ERROR installing ISPConfig guardian Installation/Configuration 2 2nd August 2006 16:56
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 04:38
Could not make OpenSSL yontengyatso Installation/Configuration 3 3rd November 2005 11:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.