Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th January 2008, 16:15
treble treble is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora 8 server HOWTO

I want to follow the Perfect Server Setup for Fedora 8, have the following question:

I do not have a registered Domain Name will the setup be any different, for exemple when naming the server, the HOWTO uses "server1.exemple.com".

For the moment I just want to use it as test server, but would like to set it up as close as possible to to what it would be having an actual registered DN.

This naming issue is confusing me and I do not know how to proceed.

thank you for any help,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th January 2008, 16:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

If it's a test server, you can use server1.example.com. Make sure server1.example.com is listed in /etc/hosts.

As an alternative, you could get a hostname from dyndns.org.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th January 2008, 12:34
treble treble is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool lynx

hi,

thank you for the answer on the naming question. I do have a dyndns hostname setup on a firewall, should the server also have a dyndns hostname?

In the tutorial it is suggested installing lynx, wont firefox be sufficient, or should
I disable the graphical interface and run the server in text mode.

One more question if I may, to install Ispconfig where on the system do I install it ?

thanks again

treble
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th January 2008, 18:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
should the server also have a dyndns hostname?
It's no must.

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
In the tutorial it is suggested installing lynx, wont firefox be sufficient, or should
I disable the graphical interface and run the server in text mode.
I don't recommend running a desktop on a server. It'S a security risk and causes additional load.

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
One more question if I may, to install Ispconfig where on the system do I install it ?
You can't choose the location. The frontend gets installed in /home/admispconfig, the backend in /root/ispconfig. But the installer does all this for you.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2008, 14:58
treble treble is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Fixing errors on my installation!

Hello and good morning,

I am thinking of redoing my installation from scratch! I had F8 originally installed with the desktop software and even though I have now uninstalled that part I think that there may still be left a lot of staff that just confuses me when I look around the system.

Also I may have made some mistakes with the configuring of the Mysql, I wont go into details mostly because I did not take notes of the errors, and would have to try a few things to regenerate the error codes.

Q: Is there a way to backtrack and fix problems without actually reinstalling? C lean up the previous configuration, passwords, etc. and reconfigure ?

I have also installed ISPconfig, after a couple of failed attempts, it installed and ended with a message that the system was now available to use without rebooting, all well till now but when I try to access it with lynx or another browser from another computer it tells it is unable to connect to foreign host. I am following the instructions on the ISPConfig website, to connect I enter http://server1.exemple.com:81 and tryed https as well.

Accessing the Apache server works, I do not know where to look for the problem with the ISPConfig.

This post does not have any very specific questions, I am sort of reporting on the progress so far.

Thanks for the help on the previous, very silly Qs, for lack of a better word.

If you have the time to say something about what I say in this post, reinstalling, fixing errors, etc, I look forward to reading it.

Thanks again.
treble
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
Q: Is there a way to backtrack and fix problems without actually reinstalling? C lean up the previous configuration, passwords, etc. and reconfigure ?
You can check the logs in /var/log to find out about errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
I have also installed ISPconfig, after a couple of failed attempts, it installed and ended with a message that the system was now available to use without rebooting, all well till now but when I try to access it with lynx or another browser from another computer it tells it is unable to connect to foreign host. I am following the instructions on the ISPConfig website, to connect I enter http://server1.exemple.com:81 and tryed https as well.
Did you replace server1.example.com with your actual hostname or IP address? What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd January 2008, 17:00
treble treble is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default netstat -tap

falko,

here is the output of: netstat -tap

and below are the last few lines of the ISPconfig installation output.


Quote:
root@server1 ~]# netstat -tap
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2036/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1786/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomai:domain *:* LISTEN 1903/named
tcp 0 0 *:46167 *:* LISTEN 1804/rpc.statd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 2121/master
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 1903/named
tcp 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 2058/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:pop3s *:* LISTEN 2058/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:pop3 *:* LISTEN 2058/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:imap *:* LISTEN 2058/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:http *:* LISTEN 2147/httpd
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 2131/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 localhost6.localdoma:domain *:* LISTEN 1903/named
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1934/sshd
tcp 0 0 localhost6.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 1903/named
tcp 0 148 server1.exemple.com:ssh ::ffff:192.168. :49465 ESTABLISHED 2386/0

Quote:
All prerequisites are fulfilled.
Here we go...


Warning: include(config.inc.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /tmp/install_ispconfig/install.php on line 673

Warning: include(): Failed opening 'config.inc.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:') in /tmp/install_ispconfig/install.php on line 673

Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /tmp/install_ispconfig/install.php on line 694
Could not connect to db
Restarting some services...
./setup2: line 1135: [: ==: unary operator expected
./setup2: line 1153: /etc/rc.d/init.d/ispconfig_server: No such file or directory
Congratulations! Your ISPConfig system is now installed. If you had to install quota, please take the steps described in the installation manual. Otherwise your system is now available without reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th January 2008, 15:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

ISPConfig isn't running.

Quote:
Originally Posted by treble
and below are the last few lines of the ISPconfig installation output.
What's the output of
Code:
df -h
?

Quote:
Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /tmp/install_ispconfig/install.php on line 694
Does your MySQL root password have any special characters?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2008, 21:44
treble treble is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig not running?

hi falko,

ISPConfig not running? Yes, and I may know what the problem is:

I encrypted the key. In the installation howto is sugested to say no to the encrypting question, or the server wont start without human interaction.

Can you tell me how to start it anyway? and how to generate a new key?

There are no special characters in the Mysql passwrd, but when I set it up something made me think that perhaps I did not do it right, I entered the password in front of the command instead of waiting to be prompted for it. Might that be the problem?

Quote:
mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
df -h


[root@server1 ~]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
145G 1.8G 143G 2% /
/dev/sda1 190M 19M 162M 11% /boot
tmpfs 474M 0 474M 0% /dev/shm


thank you

treble
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th January 2008, 17:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Can you log in to MySQL and check if the ISPConfig database is existing and if it's empty or if there's anything in it?

Quote:
I encrypted the key.
Please create a new cert: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with "Install VMware Server On A Fedora 7 Desktop" mauriceh HOWTO-Related Questions 10 26th September 2007 21:46
CentOS Mail Server with Virtual Domains Howto morenz Server Operation 2 23rd March 2007 09:03
Fedora 6 & VMware server chejose HOWTO-Related Questions 9 17th March 2007 19:29
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
Mail not working Roadracer Installation/Configuration 16 30th December 2005 23:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.