Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th February 2008, 20:19
the_mog the_mog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ISP Config, config?

Hi Guys,

First a massive thank you to Falko and Till Your tutorials / Isp config is fantastic

Ok Let me explain what i have / need to try and accomplish....

I have installed (using Falkos tut centos server 5.1) Centos the Perfect server

I have also installed ISP Config.

I am running this on my local network

server a) 192.168.0.100
server b) 192.168.0.110.

Firstly using ISP Config how can i set up a account to create a Db on Server b
I also need to load some PHP scripts on server a

Server a's Scripts will use server b's DB

Confusing i know.

Please bear in mind i do not have static ip's that an be viewed from out of my LAN, I need to do a simulation in my office enviroment before we upload to the proper servers.
My Proper servers will have a identical install as my test server.

My question is, should i create a client / reseller-client

also how would i access the ftp area / webpages from my local LAN?

Thanks again

K-
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th February 2008, 11:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

With the current ISPConfig 2.2.x versions, you will only be able to manage one server. So ISPConfig on server A is currently not able to create database on server B.

If server B is only a database server, then this should not be a big problem. I recommend that you install phpmyadmin on server B and then create the databases in phpmyadmin and not ISPConfig.

If you have ispconfig installed on both servers, you will have to create a website on server B, even if its just a dummy domain, and then create the databases on the options tab of this website. In the database creation form in ISPConfig, there is a checkbox to allow external access to this database from server A.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
the_mog (7th February 2008)
  #3  
Old 7th February 2008, 12:25
the_mog the_mog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that I understand it completly

Could you please explain how i can set up a account that uses only a IP Address, which i can view on my local LAN ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2008, 18:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_mog
Could you please explain how i can set up a account that uses only a IP Address, which i can view on my local LAN ?
You mean an IP-based vhost? That'S not possible, ISPPConfig creates only name-based vhosts.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My server got hacked and is being used to SPAM greenhornet Installation/Configuration 15 28th January 2008 18:02
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 20th July 2007 00:46
Anyone figured out to integrate FuzzyOCR into ISPConfig on Ubuntu? friday Installation/Configuration 16 10th May 2007 17:25
spamassasin/clamAV not working Daisy Installation/Configuration 32 15th February 2007 01:09
PHP problem ..Just installed ISP Config malikp Installation/Configuration 5 10th April 2006 12:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.