Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th February 2008, 05:56
sean_zhang sean_zhang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to activate Broadcom 1505 wirless card on RHEL

I installed ndiswrapper, and tried to use the Windows driver to activate the Broadcom 1505 802.11n wireless card on RHEL, but failed.

1. Add line 'alias wlan1 ndiswrapper' to /etc/modprobe.conf
2. # system-config-network
Add the wireless card and try to activate it.

But the error message pops up:
"ndiswrapper device wlan1 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization."

I checked dmesg and found no failure message related to bcmwl5 or ndiswrapper.
But the wireless card could not be detected by hwbrowser.

I successfully used Broadcom 1390 802.11bg wireless card on SLED at one time or another, via the help of ndiswrapper.

Can you please provide any suggestion?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th February 2008, 16:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
lspci
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th February 2008, 02:38
sean_zhang sean_zhang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lspci -v
0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)
Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1500 Draft 802.11n WLAN Mini-card
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 177
Memory at f9ffc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=1M]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information
Capabilities: [e8] Message Signalled Interrupts: 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint IRQ 0
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 1c-00-40-ff-ff-26-d3-bd
Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th February 2008, 18:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Have you tried to use wlan0 instead of wlan1?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
sean_zhang (14th February 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.