Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd January 2008, 23:11
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default Setting up a customer SSL site

I've set up a bunch of customers under ISPConfig. I've also manually configured a lot of SSL customer sites under Apache2. But I've never configured an SSL site within ISPConfig.

I've gone into the site configuration, checked "SSL" in the "basis" tab, and I now have an "SSL" tab appearing. When I go to that tab I see entry fields labeled "SSL Request" and "SSL Certificate". I assume that I use the server key in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key and do the following:
1) Generate a private key for the domain I'm configuring
2) Create a CSR from that private key
3) Send the CSR to a cert issuing authority
4) When I get a cert back, paste the CSR into the "SSL Request" text box and the cert into the "SSL Certificate" text box. If I then save the cert info, will ISPConfig add the appropriate port 443 stanzas to the Apache config file?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th January 2008, 01:26
wpwood3 wpwood3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 197
Thanks: 21
Thanked 30 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catdude
will ISPConfig add the appropriate port 443 stanzas to the Apache config file?
Yes.

On my server you can see them in /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
__________________
CentOS 5.4 64bit (the Perfect Setup)
ISPConfig 2.2.40
WP3 Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th January 2008, 16:04
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Excellent; thanks for confirming that.

Now for the next question. I've got three IP address assigned to this server. One of them is the address I've got ISPConfig listening to/answering on. SInce this customer needs SSL, I assume I ought to assign one of the other two addresses to his domain by creating another server entry in ISPConfig.

I see where I can enter another IP address under Management/Server/Settings. When I do a database dump and examine the records I see the new IP address in the isp_server and isp_server_ip records, but it's still set to server_id of 1. Should this in fact be server_id 2?

Do I need to do something different to create a second server instance? I am experimenting with this with a domain I own and use for test purposes for now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th January 2008, 18:34
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
 
Default

This howto will be very helpful as well: http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/14_49_en.html
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL for virtual hosts on one certificate rbartz Tips/Tricks/Mods 8 20th November 2007 17:59
I just need one website...... showe1966 Installation/Configuration 21 19th September 2007 23:20
Help. Apache don't start payne Server Operation 3 17th August 2007 15:57
SSL Issue - Unable to connect to any site Menzor Installation/Configuration 4 27th May 2007 04:03
SSL not working for individual site. FeraTechInc General 4 1st March 2007 20:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.