Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st January 2006, 06:11
cybereatl cybereatl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to cybereatl
Question Help me about this...

Hi there, I got a question about webhost manager server:

As far as the server is connected directly from ISP switch, we got 3 static IP addresses and our bandwith is 512, we planned to host some domains such as .com, .net, .info and .edu.co.

How can we access our server from Intranet to upload courses, we are using moodle and our courses are about 300MB and some of them more because they include video, simulation, recording, docs, etc... If we try to do it accesing by ftp using internet we will take for ever in upload a course.

If we set a 4 port router (D-Link DI-524) and have them to set virtual server the server will have 192.168.0.150:80 / 80 how webhost manager will work not having direct access to Public IP ?? or there is no problem.(I find out that there is some issues with ftp's)

If does has a problem, if we use a 24 port switch we can use their software to configure those ports and have server and station networked still having server PublicIP address accesing webhost manager server.

If you can help me out with those matters will be very helpfull.

Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st January 2006, 06:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Please clarify: Is your server now connected directly to the internet, or is it behind a router? Does it have one or two network interfaces? Is it in a data center or in your office/at home?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2006, 14:50
cybereatl cybereatl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to cybereatl
Default

Ok, is on my office and is connected directly to Internet, is not behind a router and has an onboard network card.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2006, 16:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

So this means your server has only a public IP address. Therefore you cannot set up an intranet - you must use your internet connection to transfer the files.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd January 2006, 04:28
cybereatl cybereatl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to cybereatl
Default

Well am using a webhost manager software so the server got two static ip addresses, but today I just find out about Astaro Firewall, so probably I'll load up a machine with that software and stick 2, 3Com cards.

Also I got a chance to test a 16 port switch compex PS2216 1B http://www.cpx.com/products.asp?c=Switches so I can use this switch to configure port and set more bandwith to main server and manage other pc's.

But also I've seen this model: SAS2224B http://www.cpx.com/products.asp?c=Switches&d=&page=2

Whic one you guys recommend me as the best option for managing webserver and intranet access.

Thank you



Thanks

Last edited by cybereatl; 22nd January 2006 at 04:49.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2006, 08:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybereatl
Also I got a chance to test a 16 port switch compex PS2216 1B http://www.cpx.com/products.asp?c=Switches so I can use this switch to configure port and set more bandwith to main server and manage other pc's.

But also I've seen this model: SAS2224B http://www.cpx.com/products.asp?c=Switches&d=&page=2

Whic one you guys recommend me as the best option for managing webserver and intranet access.
I don't know these switches so I can't give a recommendation. But basically any switch should do.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.