#1  
Old 19th January 2008, 18:18
zoish zoish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Remote Access

hi everyone

i am running a fedora core 7 in my office and i have 8 static ip addresess.

i am trying to find out how i can set up a business like gotomypc.co.uk

i want to get the clinet sign up and access their pc or any other device which is ip based!

can anybody walk me through what i need hardware and software wise and how i can set it up please.

one more question:

when i want to install a software on linux(e.g rpm softwares) do i have to cd in any particulre directory or if i stay on my home directory and run rpm -Uvh somesoftware.rpm it will be insatlled on the proper directory by itself?

thanks 4 your help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th January 2008, 19:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=zoish]hi everyone

i am running a fedora core 7 in my office and i have 8 static ip addresess.

i am trying to find out how i can set up a business like gotomypc.co.uk

i want to get the clinet sign up and access their pc or any other device which is ip based!

can anybody walk me through what i need hardware and software wise and how i can set it up please.[/QUOTEDo you mean something like this? http://www.tightvnc.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoish
one more question:

when i want to install a software on linux(e.g rpm softwares) do i have to cd in any particulre directory
No, at least not if you install the rpm "online", e.g. like this: rpm -Uvh http://.../somefile.rpm
If you've downloaded the rpm, you must of course specify the correct path to the rpm file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoish
or if i stay on my home directory and run rpm -Uvh somesoftware.rpm it will be insatlled on the proper directory by itself?
Yes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2008, 11:02
zoish zoish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Remote access

hi falko

thanks for your reply, about remote access my idea is:

to install ip cam in clinet's house/office and let them monitor their permises through internet, but at the same time i do not want them to get static ip for their house or offices.

is there any way we can install ip camera in remote side and use normal internet access like ADSL connection with dynamic ip address and let signed up user to monitor their permises remotly as well as accessing their pc?

i think it is possible but i can not figure it out how as i am new in Linux.

i would be greatful if you let me know.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoish
is there any way we can install ip camera in remote side and use normal internet access like ADSL connection with dynamic ip address and let signed up user to monitor their permises remotly as well as accessing their pc?
You can get a hostname at dyndns.org and then let the router update the IP address whenever it changes. Most routers support dyndns.org.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Support Ticket and MySQL Remote Access Question lewis_saint Installation/Configuration 3 20th May 2007 23:56
Can't Remote Access mysql 4.1 dedibox Installation/Configuration 2 24th August 2006 10:32
configuring IPTABLES firewall adityavpratap HOWTO-Related Questions 9 27th May 2006 21:42
Questions in regards to ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" rbrantley HOWTO-Related Questions 16 10th April 2006 18:26
Remote access to ispconfig failure: fedora core 4 (64 bit) dchowdhu Installation/Configuration 6 27th January 2006 10:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.