#1  
Old 20th January 2008, 10:09
ralph ralph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default xen network problems

ive followed the howtoforge guide for debian etch repository xen install.

ive got two network interfaces, for which eth1 is the one online.

So i define (network-bridge network-script netdev=eth1) in xend-config.sxp.

The problem is when i then boot up the xen kernel i cant get online with host(dom0) but the domains(domU) gets online. What have i forgotten?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st January 2008, 18:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
and
Code:
route -nee
on dom0? Any errors in the logs?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th January 2008, 15:02
ralph ralph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cant copy/paste so i will give as much info as possible:

ifconfig shows:

eth1 - public ip adress
lo - 127.0.0.1
peth1 - no ip adress
vif0.1, vif1.0, vif 2.0 and xenbr1 - no ipadresses

route -nee shows eth1 in routes. one from gateway and one to gateway.

cant understand how the vms can be online but not the host.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th January 2008, 18:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/network/interfaces on dom0?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th January 2008, 10:27
ralph ralph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet static
address <publicip>
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast <broadcastip>
gateway <gatewayip>

was thinking about debugging the network-bridge script to see if i can get any errors.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th January 2008, 19:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph
allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet static
address <publicip>
netmask 255.255.255.0
broadcast <broadcastip>
gateway <gatewayip>
That's all? No loopback device (lo)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th January 2008, 19:48
ralph ralph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah sorry forgot that. lo as by default installed. any hints to what could be wrong. Should be the bridge right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th January 2008, 15:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Are there spaces in front of address, broadcast, netmask, and gateway? Can you post the whole file again and wrap it in code tags here (that's the # button in the editor here)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th January 2008, 16:36
ralph ralph is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

it works when im not booting xen kernel so i guess the problem has to lie somewhere else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with network on debian etch Kap Server Operation 3 29th December 2007 14:29
Xen 3.1 virtual network distratios HOWTO-Related Questions 0 17th December 2007 11:20
network problems foor suse 10.2 in Virtual PC equinox Installation/Configuration 4 12th April 2007 17:08
The Perfect Xen 3.0 Setup For Debian - virtual network problem rsacon HOWTO-Related Questions 11 21st April 2006 21:24
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.