Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th December 2010, 16:18
q2800 q2800 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't connect with ubuntu file servers.

Hello, im getting errors:

1)
Err [address]
Cannot initiate the connection to [address] - connect (101: Network is unreachable) [ IP: [ip] ]

2)
W: Failed to fetch [address] Cannot initiate the connection to [address][port] ([ip]). - connect (101: Network is unreachable) [IP: [ip] ]

So do you guys know what can cause that problem ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th December 2010, 21:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

It seems as if the network configuration is wrong on the Ubuntu system. What's in /etc/network/interfaces and /etc/resolv.conf, and what are the outputs of
Code:
ifconfig
and
Code:
route -nee
?

What's your router's local IP?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th December 2010, 14:02
q2800 q2800 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, you were right! After lookup, i saw that my netmask was wrong. Thanks for pointing me at wrong config.

now im getting errors like:

temporary failure resolving 'security.ubuntu.com'

what the hell can cause that now?

Note, also when i put on /etc/network/interface --> dhcp, it started to work, but with static ( and correct data for addres, netmask, network, broadcast and getaway, it was all correct it didn't work. )

Last edited by q2800; 31st December 2010 at 00:38. Reason: more results for error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st December 2010, 14:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by q2800 View Post
now im getting errors like:

temporary failure resolving 'security.ubuntu.com'

what the hell can cause that now?

Note, also when i put on /etc/network/interface --> dhcp, it started to work, but with static ( and correct data for addres, netmask, network, broadcast and getaway, it was all correct it didn't work. )
Can you post the files/outputs that I asked for in post #2?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd January 2011, 20:43
q2800 q2800 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ifconfig result:


kristjan@server1:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:b0:56:e8:d4
inet addr:192.168.10.106 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::260:b0ff:fe56:e8d4/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:73625 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:73413 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:9699311 (9.6 MB) TX bytes:39762692 (39.7 MB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:51516 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:51516 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3307932 (3.3 MB) TX bytes:3307932 (3.3 MB)

and route -nee result

kristjan@server1:~$ route -nee
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface MSS Window irtt
192.168.10.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0 0 0 0
0.0.0.0 192.168.10.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0 0 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th January 2011, 14:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

And what's in /etc/network/interfaces and /etc/resolv.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th January 2011, 14:14
q2800 q2800 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

interfaces is right now default so it means set to: dhcp!

and resolv is:

nameserver 192.168.10.1
domain TRENDnet
search TRENDnet
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th January 2011, 13:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by q2800 View Post
interfaces is right now default so it means set to: dhcp!
Can you please post it?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th January 2011, 23:06
q2800 q2800 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here it is:


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th January 2011, 14:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

What are the outputs of
Code:
ping -c4 192.168.10.1
ping -c4 google.com
ping -c4 209.85.149.105
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2014 20:17
rkhunter warnings esezako General 7 27th September 2011 07:28
adding mail boxes kwickcut Server Operation 20 11th August 2010 01:02
Unbale to login to Postfix from webmail wasimriz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 6th April 2009 13:49
Chroot SSH + ISPConfig Norman Installation/Configuration 27 26th March 2007 03:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.