#1  
Old 9th December 2006, 06:12
Daisy Daisy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default post installation... What now?

so, installation went well, and I'm learning ISPConfig, albeit slowly, so I was wondering, is there any tutorial or site that has kinda basic how to's to help you get going after installing? For example, what if I was running BIND already and I just want to copy my zone files. Will ISPconfig allow that? what about mail? my previous mailserver used MailDIR and postfix does too. If I migrate mail accounts will ISPconfig see/allow this? Also, old apache was 2.2 and am running 2.2 now on ISPconfig box. If I migrate apache config will ISPConfig allow? Will I still be able to use vhosts file? etc etc....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th December 2006, 15:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,964
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,366 Times in 4,213 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy
so, installation went well, and I'm learning ISPConfig, albeit slowly, so I was wondering, is there any tutorial or site that has kinda basic how to's to help you get going after installing? For example, what if I was running BIND already and I just want to copy my zone files. Will ISPconfig allow that?
No. Create the zones again in the ISPConfig DNS-Manager.

Quote:
what about mail? my previous mailserver used MailDIR and postfix does too. If I migrate mail accounts will ISPconfig see/allow this?
You can create the amil accounts in ISPConfig and then copy the email from the maildirs of your old server to the news maildirs created by ISPConfig.

Quote:
Also, old apache was 2.2 and am running 2.2 now on ISPconfig box. If I migrate apache config will ISPConfig allow?
No. ISPConfig can not manage your old websites beacuse they are not in the iSPConfig database and will have most likely a directory structure that is not compatible with ISPconfig, you must recreate them in ISPConfig.

Quote:
Will I still be able to use vhosts file? etc etc....
ISPConfig uses the vhosts file, but you will have to recreate all emai accounts in ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th December 2006, 15:36
Daisy Daisy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

righty o. So in a nutshell, start from scratch. *SIGH* Ok. One last thing, what if I want to host one of my own sites. I tried creating a site without having any resellers or clients and I couldn't. Does that mean I have to make myself a client before I can setup my own sites?

P.S. Just curious, it would seem to me that it's easier to create/edit zone files than using the web interface. i.e. adding several subdomains (which has to be one at a time through ispconfig as far as I can tell.) Is there any option to edit the zone file manually?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th December 2006, 13:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy
Does that mean I have to make myself a client before I can setup my own sites?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy
Is there any option to edit the zone file manually?
You can add records manually in the zone files below the line
Code:
;;;; MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ;;;;
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th December 2006, 15:44
Daisy Daisy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

but then they won't be available in ISPconfig right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th December 2006, 15:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,964
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,366 Times in 4,213 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisy
but then they won't be available in ISPconfig right?
Yes. You can only manage records that where added in ISPConfig intreface.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51
ISPConfig-2.2.2 installation problem (empty mysql db after installation) sfrank Installation/Configuration 4 25th May 2006 14:56
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
ISPC install stops str2etboy Installation/Configuration 19 28th January 2006 07:18
Trouble with Installation. cjkeeme Installation/Configuration 3 3rd August 2005 18:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.