#1  
Old 18th July 2007, 23:22
hotchilli hotchilli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default vmware server in etch

I am installing vmware server on etch.

when i change my interfaces file to the one in the how to the internet fails to work i also resolv. conf file to the one suggested in the the how to

here is what my interaces files and resolv.conf look like


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)

# The loopback interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
address 127.0.0.1
netmask 255.0.0.0

# The first network card - this entry was created during the Debian installation
# (network, broadcast and gateway are optional)
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255


reslov.conf


nameserver 62.30.112.39
nameserver 194.117.134.19
nameserver 62.30.0.39

here is my ifconfig:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0F:B0:5C:AF:1F
inet addr:77.101.58.22 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:fe5c:af1f/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:18961 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1341027 (1.2 MiB) TX bytes:14465 (14.1 KiB)
Interrupt:193 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:49 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:49 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3380 (3.3 KiB) TX bytes:3380 (3.3 KiB)

nb IP address DHCP generated



hotchilli

Last edited by hotchilli; 19th July 2007 at 14:45.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th July 2007, 13:39
lando lando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is this machine directly on the internet? If it is then remove

network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255

if not, then something is weird because you got this ip 77.101.58.22
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th July 2007, 14:39
hotchilli hotchilli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default re etch and vmware server

thanks for post and pm lando

I did as suggested

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
address 192.168.1.1
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255

but when restarting network this was the out put



debian:/etc/network# /etc/init.d/networking restart
Reconfiguring network interfaces...SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Failed to bring up eth1.
done.

so i changed eth1 to eth0
and got this reply

debian:/etc/network# /etc/init.d/networking restart
Reconfiguring network interfaces...Ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0.
done.



hotchilli

Last edited by hotchilli; 19th July 2007 at 14:42.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th July 2007, 15:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Why did you use eth1 when you only have eth0?

You can install VMware Server using your original working /etc/network/interfaces file.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th July 2007, 22:28
hotchilli hotchilli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default vmware server in etch

Thanks for your post falko.

I have used my original /etc/network/interfaces file

On page 2 of the howto
http://www.howtoforge.com/debian_etc...erver_howto_p2

it says:

The VMware Management interface is now installed on your system.
You will now be able to login the the VMware management interface with the URL:
https://192.168.0.100:8333/
To login use the username root and the password of your root system user

what would be the url in my case?

hotchilli
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th July 2007, 09:25
lando lando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

run ifconfig in the shell and there you'll see your ip.

Use th ip you see there to connect to with the same port as the howto say's
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.