Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th January 2008, 18:09
TheBus TheBus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mailman on ISPConfig 2.2.3 on debian

Hi all,
i try to understang how to configure mailman in order to use with ispconfig.

i upgraded my ispconfig to ISPConfig 2.2.3
I installed mailman from debian-package with apt-get

and then?
i try to set for a site the option mailing list and i enable cgi but i don't understand how to access to mailing list and how configure it

if i do a list_lists i see only the mailman 1st mailing list

Anyone can give me some hints?

Regards
TheBus
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th January 2008, 18:27
jnsc jnsc is online now
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 531
Thanks: 11
Thanked 175 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Did you do a fresh install or an update? Did the installer ask you about mailman?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2008, 18:57
TheBus TheBus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did the upgrade before installing mailman.
I try now to redo the upgrade (after the installation of mailman) but the installer don't ask to me nothing about mailman.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th January 2008, 00:09
jnsc jnsc is online now
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 531
Thanks: 11
Thanked 175 Times in 79 Posts
Default

This is because it's an update and not a fresh install.

Here it what it does :

it adds admispconfig to the list group

edit config.inc.php.tmp
Code:
$go_info["server"]["mailman"]["default_mailman_domain"] = "lists.example.com";
$go_info["server"]["mailman"]["new_list_path"] = "/usr/lib/mailman/bin/newlist";
$go_info["server"]["mailman"]["config_list_path"] = "/usr/lib/mailman/bin/config_list";
it adds
Code:
### Mailman Section ###
ScriptAlias /mailman/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/mailman/
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/mailman/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/mailman/
Alias /images/mailman/ /usr/share/images/mailman/
### End of Mailman Section ###
to the apache configuration

Add
Code:
transport_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/transport
relay_domains = hash:/etc/postfix/relay-host-names
mailman_destination_recipient_limit = 1
to /etc/postfix/master.cf

then do
Code:
postmap /etc/postfix/transport
Code:
postmap /etc/postfix/relay-host-names

Add
Code:
mailman   unix  -       n       n       -       -       pipe flags=FR user=list argv=/var/lib/mailman/bin/postfix-to-mailman.py ${nexthop} ${user}
to /etc/postfix/master.cf

uncomment
Code:
MTA=None
/etc/mailman/mm_cfg.py

This are the steps that are done by the installer. I hope it helps and I hope I didn't miss one step.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th January 2008, 15:55
TheBus TheBus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i do a clean server install following the debian etch howto

i installed libxml2-dev and mailman
After i upacked the tar.gz and then i made the installation following the documentation

Now i create a site with mailinglist support and i enable all (cgi*,php*,webmail,mailing list)
I create a mailing list for the site but:

if from console i write list_lists i don't see any list:

ispconfig:~# list_lists
No matching mailing lists found

if i try to access to http://www.site.com/cgi-bin/mailman/
i receive the error 404 (idem if i try to access to http://www.site.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo)

Ho i can usage it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th January 2008, 19:10
jnsc jnsc is online now
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 531
Thanks: 11
Thanked 175 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Did you set the field "Mailman Domain:" in Management -> Settings -> EMail ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th June 2008, 00:07
twall411 twall411 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you say edit config.inc.php.tmp

is that the one in the install_ispconfig directory? Do I then run ./setup or does that file end up in /root/ispconfig or some where else where I can edit it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th June 2008, 10:15
jnsc jnsc is online now
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 531
Thanks: 11
Thanked 175 Times in 79 Posts
 
Default

What are you exactly going to do? If it's a fresh install you can just follow this little guide http://howtoforge.com/set-up-mailman...-and-ispconfig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 13:40
Update MySQL In debian with ISPCONFIG kaneda Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 25th January 2007 19:38
ISPconfig on debian ETCH provell Installation/Configuration 15 23rd January 2007 11:02
Problems with Webmail, ISPConfig, and Debian Sarge Spudchat Installation/Configuration 13 20th September 2006 01:54
Problems installing ISPConfig Debian Sarge hschel Server Operation 4 22nd August 2005 20:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.