#1  
Old 31st December 2005, 12:44
comtjfnon comtjfnon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help with apache owner problem!

Hi!
I've installed Joomla CMS, and have some trouble with my ISP. Using SCP, I see that a lot of my files have "apache" as owner, in stead of my username. This causes problems for me. For Ex, when I'm customizing a template, apache takes ownership when saving and my site will not work.

Is there someone out there, who could give me a quick "howto" I can send to my ISP? I've read something about having phpscripts run as owner, but how to configure this? And does this cause problems for my ISP?

Thank you !
And I wish you a happy new Year from Norway!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st December 2005, 13:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,419
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

If PHP scripts shall run under the web administrator user, suexec must be enabled in ISPCOnfig and PHP must be run as CGI not mod_php.

You can solve your problems also by making your template files world readable and writable.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st January 2006, 22:48
comtjfnon comtjfnon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hi again!

Thanks for quick reply! I shall contact my ISP with this information. My problem is when I do modifications, apache takes ownership and then I can't chmod them (writeble).

One of my biggest problems, is when I try to post news in Joomla or Wordpress, the text gets duplicated. Why I don't know, but wonder if it has something to do with the server setup. Have you any clue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd January 2006, 00:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by comtjfnon
Thanks for quick reply! I shall contact my ISP with this information. My problem is when I do modifications, apache takes ownership and then I can't chmod them (writeble).
I guess this means it isn't your server, and you don't have root access to make the suggested changes?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd January 2006, 16:10
comtjfnon comtjfnon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Root access

Hi!
No, I don't have root access, but I've spoken to my ISP, and they will try to help me if I can come up with some solutions that wouldn't put securiy at risk..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd January 2006, 16:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,419
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

I've posted the solution for your ISP already above:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...71&postcount=2

PHP as CGI with SuExec is even more secure then mod_php.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd January 2006, 23:29
comtjfnon comtjfnon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sorry to bug you, but..

I would appreciate you're comment on this!

My problem is, like I told you
"One of my biggest problems, is when I try to post news in Joomla or Wordpress, the text gets duplicated. Why I don't know, but wonder if it has something to do with the server setup. Have you any clue?"

Today, I opened phpmyadmin and looked at the database. I then tried to copy into jos_content the html code I wanted to post (I first wrote my article in Joomla, pressed the HTML button in the wysiwyg and copied it bedfore i saved - then it get messed up). When I looked at it in Joomla, it had duplicated. Could this then be a MySQL problem? My ISP is running MySQL 3.23.54..

The phpinfo file you can see here. Something wrong?

Regarding apache owner, my ISP shall test your config and get back to me! He agreed on everything you wrote, but had to check locally first!

Last edited by comtjfnon; 4th January 2006 at 00:10.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th January 2006, 00:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

The output of phpinfo(); looks ok.
I don't think it's a problem with MySQL; I guess it's rather some kind of misconfiguration in Joomla. Maybe you can debug the scripts by putting some echo or die() statements into them.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th January 2006, 22:32
comtjfnon comtjfnon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I would agree with you if it haven't been that I get the same problems when I install simular programs like WordPress.. Debug, debug.. Hopefully my next reply will be an answer..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 14:01
Apache language problem toyito Installation/Configuration 2 30th November 2005 04:25
Please help - Apache problem atrik_Pr Installation/Configuration 5 9th November 2005 14:06
UI Problem with additonal Apache directives tstich General 3 3rd November 2005 14:11
Warnings in ispconfig.log and path for apache problem. Pelle Installation/Configuration 7 16th October 2005 23:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.