Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th January 2008, 22:50
BriX BriX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default VMWare Server on Debian Etch Link is down/up

I have a fresh install of vmware server on debian etch using howto.
The problem is after a while the network stops working.

dmesg output on host machine reveals this:

Quote:
skge eth1: Link is down.
skge eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control tx and rx
skge eth1: Link is down.
skge eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control tx and rx
skge eth1: Link is down.
skge eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control tx and rx
skge eth1: disabling interface
bridge-eth1: disabling the bridge
device eth1 left promiscuous mode
audit(1199479745.046:3): dev=eth1 prom=0 old_prom=256 auid=4294967295
bridge-eth1: disabled promiscuous mode
bridge-eth1: down
/etc/init.d/networking restart brings the network up again
I checked the NIC in the host, the network switch and cable.
Any idea how to stop the link from going down?
TIA
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th January 2008, 14:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Did you have the same problem before you installed VMware Server?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (23rd November 2013)
  #3  
Old 5th January 2008, 20:13
tfunky tfunky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I had the same problem with the NICs built into a HP DL385 when I installed Etch and Vmware server 1.04.

I wound up swapping NICS (even the the built in NICs worked great until VMWare went on)

I dropped in USR 10/100/1000 Nics and haven't had the problem sense.

It's not necessarily sound trouble shooting, but at least you know of one workaround
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th January 2008, 22:31
BriX BriX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

The problem started after vmware server was installed.

Thanks tfunky but I've replaced the NIC once already and the problem still exists. If all else fails I will consider buying some USR NICs then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWARE server 1.0.3 from 1.0.1 gone bad rjn456 Installation/Configuration 2 13th June 2007 08:13
Bind Failed christoph2k HOWTO-Related Questions 4 28th April 2007 00:57
Advice on for Dell Poweredge 860 - Linux Base Novacom Installation/Configuration 13 25th February 2007 15:53
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.