Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th December 2007, 03:07
valter valter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Couple of questions

Now I have installed ISPConfig on SuSE 10.3 x86, but still waiting for some answers regarding x64 system. Anyway, I would like to know the following:

1. Sites created in ISPConfig are created in /srv/www folder. How can I find out on what partition /srv is located? Because, I've made a /home partition really large and thought that ISPConfig will create sites on that partition. If /srv/ is actually located @ '/', is there any way to configure ISPConfig to create sites on /home?

2. Name Servers is ISPConfig are automatically pre-cofigured with the hostname and domain name of the ISPConfig box. So if my box is server1.domain.tld, name servers for all sites created in ISPConfig will be server1.domain.tld. Is there any way to pre-configure NS value to ns1.domain.tld and ns2.domain.tld?

3. I have a newly created TLD for the ISPConfig box, i.e. domain.tld. Now, how can I administer this domain on the ISPConfig box? What I mean is that, how can I bind this domain to the ISPConfig box without leaving NS servers for this domain @ my Internet domain register?

4. Since ISPConfig box is behind router and NAT, do I have to add my public (global) IP address to the address list, or the local IP is just enough? I ask this because, if the local one is fine, then I have to manually change IP address for the DNS records for evey site I create.

5. MX record for every site is MX 10 server1.domain.tld. Is tehre anyway to pre-configure this to mail.domain.tld and automatically create mail host DNS record with the respected IP address?

6. What ISPConfig backup funkction actually backs-up? Only ISPConfig configuration or just everything in ISPConfig (i.e. websites, configuration, mails...)?

7. Since during apache configuration (SuSE 10.3 perfect setup guide) DirectoryIndex line includes also .aspx, is it possible to run ASP.NET webpages on this machine? If so, is there any configuration in ISPConfig for this, like ASP.NET 1, ASP.NET 2...?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th December 2007, 13:29
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

1) If you want ISPConfig to create sites within /home, you have to change this setting within ISPConfig under Management > Server > Settings > Web.
Change /srv/www within /home

2) For every site, you create with ISPConfig, you are free to define the hostname and domainname.
You can do this on the basis tab of a site. The default hostname should be "www" not "server1".
You can change it within "www" within ISPConfig under Management > Server > Settings > Server.

3) You can do this with the DNS-Manager within ISPConfig.
Remember that you must have 2 DNS-servers at least to registar domains.

4) In the IP-list within ISPConfig, only use your internal IP-address, not your public one.

5) You can do this on the basis tab of the site you are creating.

6) The backup function within ISPConfig (if enabled) creates only backups of the webspaces, but not the MySQL databases. It does not create backups of configuration files, passwords, systemusers and so on. To backup your whole server, there are other methods.

7) On a default ISPConfig server it is not possible to manage MicroSoft .net based and/or .asp.net and .aspx websites. I have heard that it should be possible on a Linux system, but i don't have experience with that.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 30th December 2007 at 19:01.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
valter (30th December 2007)
  #3  
Old 30th December 2007, 19:10
valter valter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Well here's what I've done:

1. Registered brand new domain domain.tld
2. Updated name serversto point to the ISPCOnfig box
3. Created new site and DNS records (corrected local to global IP addresses)
4. Created mail user

and here's what I end up with:

1. www.domain.tld (cannot open website, servr not found)
2. www.domain.tld doesn't reply to ping (ping: cannot resolve www.domain.tld: Unknown host)
3. I can send mail using mail user@domain.tld, but when I reply to that message, the message is neither received nor returned to the sender's mailbox as undeliverable.
4. Here is output of the nslookup:

Code:
localhost:~ admin$ nslookup
> domain.tld
;; Got SERVFAIL reply from 192.168.1.37, trying next server
;; Got SERVFAIL reply from 192.168.1.38, trying next server
;; Got recursion not available from 192.168.1.38, trying next server
Server:		192.168.1.39
Address:	192.168.1.39#53

** server can't find domain.tld: NXDOMAIN
>
5. While booting, there is the following message:
Starting rquota daemon rpc.rquotad: Warning: Cannot open export table /var/lib/nfs/etab No such file or directory Using '/' as pseudofilesystem root


Any idea what could be wrong?

Last edited by valter; 30th December 2007 at 19:14.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st December 2007, 18:15
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Can you post the real domain name so that I can run a check?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st January 2008, 15:45
valter valter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

I've sent you a pm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st January 2008, 16:21
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

There are no records for the domain. The authoritative nameservers for the domain are ns1 - ns4.itpro-host.com, so please create the records there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st January 2008, 17:36
valter valter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

ns1 and ns2 are the ISPConfig box, and that's what confuses me as well that that box does not reply with an answer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st January 2008, 21:59
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Then you must tell your domain registrar that you want to use your ISPConfig system as the authoritative nameserver instead of ns1 - ns4.itpro-host.com.

Is BIND running?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd January 2008, 09:44
valter valter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Then you must tell your domain registrar that you want to use your ISPConfig system as the authoritative nameserver instead of ns1 - ns4.itpro-host.com.

Is BIND running?
ns1.itpro-host.com and ns2.itpro-host.com are pointing to ISPConfig box and are registered as name servers for that domain. Yes, BIND is running. Now I can't even get to my ISPConfig box via web address, since I have created that domain in ISPConfig...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd January 2008, 11:41
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,982 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Please ask your registrar to add glue records for your domain:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12924
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple of questions about Ubuntu Vmware install kokpelli Installation/Configuration 3 27th December 2006 13:57
Couple of Questions dannyg Installation/Configuration 3 28th October 2006 15:21
Just a Couple of Questions brainz Installation/Configuration 9 2nd March 2006 10:02
A Couple of Questions.. nformosa General 4 21st December 2005 10:05
A couple of ispconfig questions jimmy HOWTO-Related Questions 1 20th December 2005 10:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.