#11  
Old 3rd January 2006, 09:28
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

OK when i dele the settings for windows xp sever from the router box I sometimes get this page come up.




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shared IP

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------





This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

powered by ISPConfig


shajazzi
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 3rd January 2006, 10:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You must forward all neded ports (e.g. 80 and 81) from your router to your ISPConfig box.

In order to avoid seeing the Shared IP page, you must use www.mysite.co.uk in your browser's address bar to access www.mysite.co.uk, nothing else (e.g. IP address, ...).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th January 2006, 19:33
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Talking

Yes falko spot on,
I pointed all ports to ispconfig and deleted all ports pointing to Windows XP Pro server.
I just had to change the permissions in web2 to allow joomla to install.

However there must still be a permission problem because i cannot install any modules or components through Joomla back end.

shajazzi
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th January 2006, 20:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajazzi
However there must still be a permission problem because i cannot install any modules or components through Joomla back end.

shajazzi
Any error messages?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th January 2006, 01:23
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes, the the error messages i am getting are:

Upload component - Upload Failed
ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package.
[ Continue ... ]
Upload component - Failed
Installation file not found:
/srv/www/web3/web/media/install_43bc6528e164d/
[ Continue ... ]

I checked the component and the XML does exist

Also i get similar errors when trying to install modules.

shajazzi.

Last edited by shajazzi; 5th January 2006 at 01:28.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 5th January 2006, 01:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

This looks as if it'S entirely related to Joomla. Did you ask the Joomla guys?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 5th January 2006, 08:55
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I haven`t as yet,Although i still think it`s a permissions problem somewhere. I tried to load the joomla patch and it just gets kicked out. Meanwhile I`ll give joomla forums a go and let you know how I get on.

shajazzi
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 5th January 2006, 09:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajazzi
Upload component - Upload Failed
To which directory does Joomla try to upload the file? What are the permissions of the directory, to which owner and group does it belong?
Who is your Apache owner and group?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 7th January 2006, 21:48
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I`ve deleted joomla and installed a copy of mambo that installs on my windows server Ok every time.
When i installed it to www.mysite.co.uk it installs ok but i still can`t install any new components or modules.

My apache owner is root and group is root

Owner: can view & modify content
Goup: can view content
Others: can view content


Thanks

Shajazzi
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 7th January 2006, 23:01
Blu3 Blu3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I use Joomla on several different sites, and it works great and have never had any problems install modules or components onto it.

How and where are you trying to upload from?

Incase you havent tried yet, at least what works for me, download the .zip or .gz file to your Linux Desktop, then in the Install Components page in your Joomla Admin area, there are 2 options of install. 1) is "Upload Package File" and 2) is "Install from directory", obviously install from directory and use the path to the appropriate file on your desktop. You shouldnt even need to unzip/gunzip it, as Joomla will handle this for you

Also under Install from directory, please be sure that yours looks like this:

media/ Writeable
administrator/components/ Writeable
components/ Writeable
images/stories/ Writeable

And if not, then a simple chmod 700 -R to your joomla dir will fix that.

Hope this helps.
Blu3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sitebuilder Mahir General 8 10th November 2005 09:19
ispconfig error misterm Installation/Configuration 2 6th September 2005 20:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.