#1  
Old 4th August 2007, 01:34
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default having DNS issues too.

I followed the howto here
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

have godaddy set up with ns1 and ns2.somedomain.com with the IP address 65.111.174.143, this domain does nothing but host the ns1 and ns2 entries, it's parked at godaddy exactly as the example is

I set those as the DNS records for my server

I created a master with those, along with the A records for www and mail, and the MX for mail.mydomain.com

I created a site with the name mydomain.com and the user web8_mydomain

the files for web8 are in /var/www/web8/web

if I try to go to www.mydomain.com I get a 404 error, if I go to http://mydomain.net I get the

This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.
For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.


message.

if I do
dig www.mydomain.com I get

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1 <<>> www.mydomain.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 41475
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.mydomain.net. IN A

;; Query time: 84 msec
;; SERVER: 69.60.125.254#53(69.60.125.254)
;; WHEN: Fri Aug 3 19:31:19 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 36

if I dig mydomain.com I get

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1 <<>> mydomain.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 14374
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain. net IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.net. 85045 IN A 65.111.174.142

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mydomain.net. 172748 IN NS ns1.mydomain.info.
mydomain.net. 172748 IN NS ns2.mydomaino.info.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.mydomain.info. 2093 IN A 65.111.174.142
ns2.mydomain.info. 2208 IN A 65.111.174.143

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 69.60.125.254#53(69.60.125.254)
;; WHEN: Fri Aug 3 19:32:11 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 131


all the IP's look correct to me, .142 and .143 are my nameservers and .142 is the IP for mysomain.net


I have a feeling there is just some stupid little mistake I made, can anyone offer suggestions? (ignore the instances where I swap between .com and .net it means nothing)

Last edited by philip_g; 4th August 2007 at 01:39.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th August 2007, 12:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Did you create an A record for www.mydomain.net (please double-check)?

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
, and what's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th August 2007, 14:45
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Did you create an A record for www.mydomain.net (please double-check)?

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
, and what's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?
I did.

I fiddled around with the server in a couple different configurations so I'm going to re-do the entire perfect setup on a clean install here in a minute and I'll let you know shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th August 2007, 17:33
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nevermind, removed the slave and it's OK

Last edited by philip_g; 4th August 2007 at 17:43.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th August 2007, 17:44
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Did you create an A record for www.mydomain.net (please double-check)?

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
, and what's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?
ifconfig output

Quote:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:17:29:FA:3A
inet addr:65.111.174.142 Bcast:65.111.175.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
inet6 addr: 2001:618:400:bef3:216:17ff:fe29:fa3a/64 Scope:Global
inet6 addr: fe80::216:17ff:fe29:fa3a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1958 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:261 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:166154 (162.2 KiB) TX bytes:78157 (76.3 KiB)
Interrupt:185 Base address:0xe000

eth0:1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:17:29:FA:3A
inet addr:65.111.174.143 Bcast:65.111.175.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:185 Base address:0xe000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2662 (2.5 KiB) TX bytes:2662 (2.5 KiB)

DNS MGR -> my server -> records
A Records

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IP-Adresse Hostname
65.111.174.142 www
65.111.174.142 mail
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th August 2007, 17:47
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HOLY CRAP it started working on it's own.
I have no idea what I did but it's working
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th August 2007, 09:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

If you change something in DNS, it will take some time until the changes are propagated to the caching namservers. This may take up to 48 hours.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
philip_g (5th August 2007)
  #8  
Old 7th August 2007, 05:47
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
If you change something in DNS, it will take some time until the changes are propagated to the caching namservers. This may take up to 48 hours.
Even locally? I figured the local stuff would change right away.

Anyway, it's been running perfectly and I LOVE how the server has been running, added other domains and it's been just awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th August 2007, 19:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip_g
Even locally? I figured the local stuff would change right away.
Yes, changes should take effect immediately locally.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
philip_g (9th August 2007)
  #10  
Old 9th August 2007, 03:56
philip_g philip_g is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

cool, thanks.

I'm sure loving ISPConfig, really cool and easy to work with now that it's set up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slave DNS issues wadoo99 Installation/Configuration 6 24th October 2007 21:11
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
DNS Issues Alam Installation/Configuration 3 11th November 2006 13:57
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.