Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th December 2007, 03:04
vertimyst vertimyst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Does ISPConfig work with co.nr domains?

Hi,

I just installed ISPConfig after following Falco's tutorial on setting up Ubuntu 7.04 as the 'perfect server'.

Before today, I was running Ubuntu 7.04 with the LAMP stack, but I reinstalled Ubuntu due to a misconfiguration issue. When I was running that way, I had all of my hosted sites (two belonging to me, one for a friend) using free co.nr domains (www.freedomain.co.nr). They work like this:

I have a name registered on www.dyndns.org, which is shadowserve.ath.cx, I use it to access my server. Now, however, with ISPConfig, typing in http://shadowserve.ath.cx tells me it's a shared ip. Normally I can access my hosted files like this, for example: http://shadowserve.ath.cx/mysite/ and www.mysite.co.nr both should point to the same site.

To configure my co.nr domain, I open my co.nr control panel (on the co.nr site), and set the domain to point to http://shadowserve.ath.cx/mysite/. This doesn't work anymore, and I suspect this is because co.nr (free) domains are not supported by ISPConfig.

Is there a way to use the co.nr domains? Since ISPConfig seems to only allow connections to a site via its domain, rather than the server's, I'm not sure. I prefer using a control panel for my users but I'd like to have similar functionality, if not the same, as I used to.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th December 2007, 13:04
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

If you are able to manage DNS-records within the DNS-manager of your domainregistar, it should be able to point the A-record to the IP-address of your server. You must point to the public IP-address of your server when it is behind a router. With ISPConfig you can manage any domain name you want.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th December 2007, 16:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
This doesn't work anymore, and I suspect this is because co.nr (free) domains are not supported by ISPConfig.
ISPConfig supports all domain names that can be used in the internet.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProFTP work but not with ISPconfig bodi Installation/Configuration 10 5th October 2007 13:20
ISPCONFIG and Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL QuikSoft Installation/Configuration 5 6th December 2006 18:01
4 questions about ispconfig and domains, please help! dimas Installation/Configuration 7 1st August 2006 11:55
Extra domains with ISPConfig on server TheRudy General 6 16th April 2006 14:21
Getting RoundCube to work in ISPConfig networkguru00 Installation/Configuration 1 7th April 2006 23:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.