Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th December 2007, 19:04
galphanet galphanet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Domains aliases and subdomains

Hello,
I'm using ISPConfig on Swiss servers () for some websites and we need lots of subdomains but I don't want to create a new website each time, so is it possible to add just one folder for subdomain on the user's directory ?

And there's one thing I don't like:
The master domain is WWW.domain.com and not domain.com
For me, www has to be an alias to domain.com... no ?

I also vote for the crontab and virtual users

Thanks for your excellent work and happy new year for everybody !
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th December 2007, 22:00
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 213
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by galphanet
Hello,
I'm using ISPConfig on Swiss servers () for some websites and we need lots of subdomains but I don't want to create a new website each time, so is it possible to add just one folder for subdomain on the user's directory ?
That's not possible with ISPConfig, because a website which has been created as a subdomain like subdomain.domain.tld is a seperate and independed website within /var/www.

A co-domain is different: it is an alias for the website. Never remove the co-domain (without www) otherwise you will have problems with receiving e-mail on that domain.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th December 2007, 16:15
galphanet galphanet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hello Hans and thanks for your answer,
I know that's not possible in the current version but in v3 I think this will be a good thing to made them possible...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tip: URL Aliases vs. Redirects Dave Lane Tips/Tricks/Mods 4 20th October 2006 15:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.