Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th December 2005, 11:39
PorkFat PorkFat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How do you set up shared hosting?

I've had a site running on port 8086 with port forwarding on my linksys router because my ISP blocks port 80 incoming to it's customers.

Well, I set up ISPConfig to operate on port 80 internal, but when I log onto port 80 on my server's 192.168.xxx.xxx IP address, I get this:

Code:
Shared IP

This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.
If I log into port 8086, I get my original site just fine. How do I get port 80 to display my /var/www/web5/web/index.html ? How do I make that shared IP message go away?

Thank you so very much for your help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th December 2005, 12:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorkFat
If I log into port 8086, I get my original site just fine. How do I get port 80 to display my /var/www/web5/web/index.html ? How do I make that shared IP message go away?
You have to use the FQDN you assigned to web5 in order to see the correct page. For example, if www.example.com is the FQDN of web5, then you have to use www.example.com in the browser's address bar.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th December 2005, 12:46
PorkFat PorkFat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You have to use the FQDN you assigned to web5 in order to see the correct page. For example, if www.example.com is the FQDN of web5, then you have to use www.example.com in the browser's address bar.
But this is an internal network for testing. Will I have to run the DNS service and have my PCs use it in order to connect to it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th December 2005, 13:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,654 Times in 4,463 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorkFat
But this is an internal network for testing. Will I have to run the DNS service and have my PCs use it in order to connect to it?
If you want to test the hosts in your internal network, you can setup the domain record in your hosts file instead of using an DNS server.

Please see also this post:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1528
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build VPS for hosting solution stanley General 2 28th December 2005 12:06
default page for shared IP sc0ut Installation/Configuration 12 30th November 2005 01:11
Virtual Host for Shared IP Tribal-Dolphin Feature Requests 3 24th October 2005 21:55
isp manager - can't create reseller, client, hosting plan etc ahuen Installation/Configuration 13 2nd September 2005 21:49
virtual hosting m u r Installation/Configuration 2 21st August 2005 16:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.