Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th December 2007, 03:53
dharmagio dharmagio is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to dharmagio
Default The Composite extension is not available

hi
i am runing ubuntu gutsy
and i have installed the ati x300 driver with opengl support
and have the restricted controler enable for graphic acelaration

the problem is that i cant turn on the desktop effects
here is my xorg file
any help?
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.txt (2.5 KB, 735 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th December 2007, 03:58
dharmagio dharmagio is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to dharmagio
Default when i try to enable effects

and when i try to enable effects a box appears telling me that "The Composite extension is not available"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2007, 18:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
lspci
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th April 2008, 19:16
dharmagio dharmagio is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to dharmagio
Default solved

i have solved the problem
i bought a nvidea graphic card
:-)))
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th April 2008, 04:06
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Wow! What a workaround!
If You or anyone else would still be interested in this problem, You can try Envy.It worked for me.
You can download it from here: http://albertomilone.com/nvidia_scripts1.html
Just install it by:
Code:
sudo dpkg -i envy_0.9.10-0ubuntu10_all.deb
and download the missing dependent packages by sudo apt-get install ...
run Envy:
Code:
sudo envy -t
answer some obvious questions and reboot.
After that You can remove it from the system:
Code:
sudo apt-get --purge remove envy
sudo apt-get autoremove
And You're all done.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Leszek For This Useful Post:
husskii (5th December 2009)
  #6  
Old 5th December 2009, 09:55
husskii husskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thanks Leszek I also had the same problem and I can sure tell u that I wasnt about to go out and buy another graphics card....

CHEERS!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th December 2009, 18:54
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Yeah, I wouldn't do that to.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th December 2009, 14:10
lyzrageuse lyzrageuse is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi guys,
I recently installed Zoneminder on and followed different process to install it,
I have a problem, I have got cameras, both USB, one IP camera and a webcam, none of them is recognise.
After configuration, monitor is orange but source is red.
My camera are located at /dev/video0 and /dev/video1, manage to get them working with vlc and cheese, but not with zone minder.
Any Idea??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phpmyadmin "Cannot load mysql extension. Please check your PHP configuration" rjamesd Programming/Scripts 4 23rd October 2007 17:27
Need help with ATI's graphics driver installer Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 25 16th June 2007 14:33
IMAP Server with QUOTA Extension capability djida Tips/Tricks/Mods 1 30th May 2007 12:21
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 20:38
Help PHP Extension (curl) boardmain Tips/Tricks/Mods 6 31st May 2006 20:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.