Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 29th December 2005, 10:42
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,801
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

Did you execute the above steps as root user?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 29th December 2005, 21:08
chris_87 chris_87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, I do..all execute under root access
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th December 2005, 00:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Can you post your /etc/fstab here?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st December 2005, 22:12
chris_87 chris_87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here you go

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,usrquota,grpquota 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=20 0 0
/dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda3 /mnt ext3 defaults,noatime 0 0
~
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st January 2006, 14:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_87
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,usrquota,grpquota 0 1
Maybe this happens because of the "remount-read-only" option in your /etc/fstab...
Have you also tried to reboot the whole system instead of remounting the partition?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 27th February 2007, 22:15
mccharlet mccharlet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 262
Thanks: 65
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi,

I have the same problem.

# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.user was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.group was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hda2 [/] quotacheck: error (6) while opening /dev/hda2
# quotaon -avug
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/hda2] to turn quotas on/off.
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/hda2] to turn quotas on/off.


Are you find a solution

Tanks
Cdric

Last edited by mccharlet; 27th February 2007 at 22:18.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28th February 2007, 20:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Which distribution do you use?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 1st March 2007, 10:17
mccharlet mccharlet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 262
Thanks: 65
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi

I have a virtual server with debian 3.1 kernel 2.6
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd March 2007, 13:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/fstab, and what's the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2nd March 2007, 14:48
mccharlet mccharlet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 262
Thanks: 65
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
 
Default

File fstab

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
#<file sys> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/hda2 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,usrquota,grpquota 0 1
/swapfile none swap rw 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0

fdisk -l nothing display
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pop3 service alone is failed in "The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1)" nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 60 5th August 2008 16:15
The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) Issues krazy1 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 9th May 2006 18:02
The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) joshuavh Installation/Configuration 6 24th November 2005 02:32
Debian Sarge Perfect Setup Rocky Installation/Configuration 2 4th November 2005 17:32
Perfect setup (debian sarge) Pelle Installation/Configuration 4 11th October 2005 18:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.