Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th December 2007, 07:17
Ganther Ganther is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Issues with FTP and accessing site

Finally I am able to get Fedora and ISPconfig working and have created a site. My setup is basic 1 server and 1 Winxp box behind a linksys router.

But I am having couple of issues and was hoping to get some help I am a newbie with both Fedora and ISPconfig.

1. I can only access my site that I have created in ISPconfig using HTTPS and not HTTP. How can I fix this so that I can view the site using HTTP? right now I get a shared ip page with HTTP, HTTPS I get the fedora test page.

2. I can access the site via Web-FTP but I can not setup up dreamweaver to ftp to my site I am using xx.domain.ca and I have tried ftp.xx.domain.ca either way I get cannot connect to host. user name I use the web2_name.

any help would be great.. thanks
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th December 2007, 09:25
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Please check if your apache is listening to port 80 (http) and 443 (https) as well.
Waht is the output of: netstat -tap

Within Dreamweaver, if you select "FTP" within the "Access" field do not mention "ftp://" again within the field "FTP host" again. So not "ftp://mydomain.tld" but only "mydomain.tld"
Specify "/web" within the "Host directory"

Within try to establish a connection within "Passive mode" and "Normal" mode.
To enable "Passive mode", you have to swith to the advanced mode within the wizard.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting

Last edited by Hans; 10th December 2007 at 09:28.
  #3  
Old 11th December 2007, 04:52
Ganther Ganther is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here is the netstat -tap was not sure how to check to see if apache is listening on port 80 or not.

Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:49985 *:* LISTEN 1787/rpc.statd
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2099/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1768/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 *:hosts2-ns *:* LISTEN 2534/ispconfig_http
tcp 0 0 192.168.1.111:domain *:* LISTEN 14206/named
tcp 0 0 host.cooper.com:domain *:* LISTEN 14206/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomai:domain *:* LISTEN 14206/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:ipp *:* LISTEN 2283/cupsd
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:smtp *:* LISTEN 14442/sendmail: acc
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 14206/named
tcp 1 0 host.cooper.com:60004 gulus.usherbrooke.ca:http CLOSE_WAIT 32643/python
tcp 0 0 *:http *:* LISTEN 2557/httpd
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 14406/proftpd: (acc
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1995/sshd
tcp 0 0 localhost6.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 14206/named
tcp 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 2557/httpd
tcp 0 148 host.cooper.com:ssh ::ffff:192.168.1.100:4888 ESTABLISHED 431/0

As for the FTP I tried what you suggested domain.tld with the web2_username and /web as the host directory I tried it in passive mode as well, it is saying that the host can not be found.
  #4  
Old 11th December 2007, 05:05
Ganther Ganther is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got the HTTP part working added it to my host file on my xp box I tried the same with the ftp but no go.
  #5  
Old 11th December 2007, 07:04
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

If your server is behind a router did you forward port 21 from your public IP to the internal IP of your server?

Can you establish a FTP-connection when you use the IP-address instead of the domain name?
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
  #6  
Old 11th December 2007, 16:16
Ganther Ganther is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did not forward port 21, I figured I didn't need to since this server is not hosting live sites and both the server and the xp box are behind the router.

I will give that a shot today and see if it makes a difference.

I tried accessing the ftp with the internal IP address it still would not connect.
  #7  
Old 11th December 2007, 20:27
Ganther Ganther is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hans thanks for the help you pointed me in the direction I needed to look, if I use domain.tld or the eth0:0 ip address ftp does not work.

If I use the main ip address of the server with the web2_username I am able to access the ftp from my xp box I tried DOS, Dreamweaver and one other client and they all work.

I am thinking I need to add an entry to my hosts file on my xp box and on the server so when I use doamin.tld it point to my servers main ip address.

Thanks again for the help.
  #8  
Old 11th December 2007, 22:56
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
 
Default

Yes you're right. I'm glad you did it.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTP Server Behind Router backscratcher Server Operation 9 1st August 2010 13:18
Anonymous FTP Not Working robin99 Installation/Configuration 15 27th October 2008 12:27
Urgent Pls -Accessing FTP site using FTP Clients s/w on XP machines. munirg2003 HOWTO-Related Questions 2 26th June 2007 07:03
Ftp show me another directory.. CappellaioMatto Installation/Configuration 2 14th May 2007 16:35
ISPconfig ftp access? Macord General 1 4th November 2006 17:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.