Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2007, 10:25
grocal grocal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default local-host-names and subdomains keeps unwanted domains

Here's the situation.

We have a domain. Let's say it's example.domain. There's a DNS server somewhere for this domain and there's a mail server for emails from/to this domain too. Now, there's a linux machine with ISPConfig on it on which I want to host sites (without email sending support) for home.example.domain. So, I edit DNS zone files for domain example.domain on its DNS server to home.example.domain point to ISPConfig managed server. Ping/traceroute to home.example.domain works just fine pointing to the correct machine.

In ISPConfig you have to add new site and it's address by splitting domain and host part of address. So you can only enter home as host and example.domain as domain. This way example.domain gets on to local-host-names file for postfix. Do you know what that gives? You cannot send email to any address from example.domain (like test@example.domain) from any other account/domain that is hosted on ISPConfig machine because postfix thinks that example.domain is on local machine and tries to send it locally. The problem persists if you add www as host and home.example.domain as domain while adding new site - still you get home.example.domain and example.domain added to local-host-names file.

Is there some option to force ISPConfig not to add domain to local-host-names? Is there a correct method for adding subdomains as new sites without using www prefix/host?

And one more thing. I've added some site, it worked for a couple of days then I got rid of it from ISPConfig using www admin panel. Why local-host-names still got this domain in it? Why there's an entry in mysql table isp_isp_domain?

TIA
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocal
Is there some option to force ISPConfig not to add domain to local-host-names? Is there a correct method for adding subdomains as new sites without using www prefix/host?
Yes. Go to the Options tab and set the mailserver to external. Do the same for the Co-Domains.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocal
And one more thing. I've added some site, it worked for a couple of days then I got rid of it from ISPConfig using www admin panel. Why local-host-names still got this domain in it? Why there's an entry in mysql table isp_isp_domain?

TIA
Please check your Co-Domains.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2007, 18:51
grocal grocal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Yes. Go to the Options tab and set the mailserver to external. Do the same for the Co-Domains.
It was and it is set to external. Still main domain ends up in local-host-names after hitting SAVE button (host name is set to www, domain name to someserver.mydomain.domain and mydomain.domain shows up in local-host-names all the time). There's also other domain which is nowhere in admin panel (has been removed) but after any SAVE action for site it appears in local-host-names again. It's still in database. It's not correct since this domain is on some other server for a couple od days now and after any change in ISPConfig it shows up in local-host-names preventing users from sending email to that domain.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th September 2007, 17:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Did you empty all recycle bins? Are you sure you set the mail server to external for the main domain of the web site and also for the Co-Domains?

Any errors in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log? What's the output of
Code:
ls -la /root/ispconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th December 2007, 00:46
jbravo jbravo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grocal
Is there a correct method for adding subdomains as new sites without using www prefix/host?
I'd like to ask this question regarding using ISPConfig as mailserver only. I have additional distro apache for webmail only and do not want vhosts with ServerName www* (webmail.domain.com only beacuse main domain website resides on different server).
Ofcourse ISPConfig is not authoritative (both external dns servers for this domain) for this example domain so this is only "cosmetic" issue - but i like things setup 100%.

Seems that ISPConfig adds co-domain www* automatically and we can not change it easily - i'm right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th December 2007, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbravo
Seems that ISPConfig adds co-domain www* automatically and we can not change it easily - i'm right?
Simply delete that Co-Domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th December 2007, 16:32
jbravo jbravo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Simply delete that Co-Domain.
ISPConfig did it
What I did was:
setup site let's say: "domain.com" (host part empty).
ISPConfig automatically added "www" as hostname - and there is no codomain "www" - so i can not delete it. But it created "domain.com" as codomain!

Even trying to empty hostname part in "Basis" tab did nothing.

So it looks like i need just to live with it and hope ispconfig v3 implement this any many other ispconfig features/wishes i have

UPDATE: tried it again - and i still can see "www" in hostname field - but "www" prefix dissapeard from postfix and apache config files. I've restarted ispconfig to be sure that is persist - seems that it is!

UPDATE#2: i give up. After adding some new accounts "www" rised again

Last edited by jbravo; 6th December 2007 at 12:10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.