#1  
Old 7th December 2007, 07:32
ntaylor ntaylor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Home Network

Hi all

Next month i will be doing a home network at home. Basically i need some help on designing the home network and i was either thinking of having server with 2 NICS, one NIC going to ADSL Modem and bridging it and the other NIC going to a hub to link the rest of the LAN and the server doing routing,DNS,Apache,NFS,SSH,etc.

Can anyone please give me some more advise please

Thanks

Nigel

Oh yeah keep the Howtos going they are great.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th December 2007, 12:49
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default

how many ports does the adsl modem have?
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th December 2007, 13:30
ntaylor ntaylor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjau
how many ports does the adsl modem have?
it has 4 ports and is wireless, its just that i want more control over the network thats why i am thinking of bridging. But i have also heard that bridging is not that good for some reason. this is what i was going to do

-------------
| Internet |
-------------
|
|
-------------------
| ADSL Modem |
-------------------
|
|
----------------------
| Server/Gateway |
----------------------
|
|
-------
| Hub |
-------
|
|
-----------------
| Workstation |
-----------------

But what i was thinking of getting another computer and splitting the Server/Gateway, so it will be Gateway/firewall then to hub then the server will come off the hub with the workstations.

What do you guys think? sorry abit rough

Last edited by ntaylor; 7th December 2007 at 13:37.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th December 2007, 15:16
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
 
Default

it's doable but you really want that? If you can replace the firmware of your router with openwrt or ddwrt it's already much better IMHO.
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow network performance reading data JoeySpace Installation/Configuration 2 10th April 2007 17:42
ISPconfig in a home network zenny Installation/Configuration 25 3rd January 2007 18:19
Best Distribution for Home Network Server thecgmguy Installation/Configuration 3 15th November 2006 17:01
mail problem - authentication (postfix,ISPconfig) marclar General 57 24th June 2006 16:24
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.