Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th December 2007, 16:45
mnzava mnzava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Posts: 48
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Joining Server(installed ISPConfig) into windows domain

Hello everyone,
I have installed ISPConfig in my CentOS 5 server without any problem based on Perfect Setup.

Now i'm facing some problems (i guess they are not related to ISPConfig).

First, my server cannot resolve names with my windows domain. Every time i try to access my ISPConfig server i have to use the ip address instead of its name.

I have changed my /etc/hosts file by adding the name of AD server without any success.

Even /etc/resolv.conf to point to AD without any success.

Then, i tried to join to the domain using this command

net join -S domainname -U Administrator

but i get this message
" Host is not configured as a member server.
Invalid configuration. Exiting....
ADS join did not work, falling back to RPC...
cannot join as standalone machine
"

What is wrong? Any help?
I real want to access my sites using their names because using server IP address i will get " SHARED IP MESSAGE".

I know there is a way to edit host file in my windows laptop(client machine) but this is not helpful because i want other people to use server name instead of IP address.

Second, I cannot send email from my ISPConfig server to my other machine which is a mail server(configured in fedora). But i can send email to other outside email account(eg, Yahoo, Hotmail, gmail) but i cant reply to my ISPConfig server.

Thanx in advance

Mnzava
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th February 2008, 20:02
sleazybreezy sleazybreezy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi,

im a bit of a newb, but i think its down to your dns server entried in tcp/ip properties on the machine you are trying to view website from within your network.

From memory..

MyComputer>networkconnection>RightClickProperties> tcp/ip>properties>advanced>DNS>add in ip address of your ispconfig server. Thenof your router.

Your machine will look here first for the website. then to the router dns settings.

Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sleazybreezy For This Useful Post:
mnzava (15th February 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig - Why not integrate Free Radius? Johan_Boshoff Feature Requests 3 12th October 2007 23:19
How to add more than 25 users for 1 domain in ISPCONFIG? smathaven Installation/Configuration 5 11th July 2007 10:04
Can't access login enter ispconfig web ftp domain hostname Dekalb Installation/Configuration 1 3rd June 2007 13:22
need help in creating and registering a domain name with ispconfig tproxy General 3 25th September 2006 12:47
ISPConfig - Install/Update deletes hostname from my domain from admin URL Prompt Developers' Forum 4 22nd November 2005 23:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.