Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd December 2007, 06:31
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default About installing ISPConfig

Hi folks,


Ubuntu 7.04 server amd64
webmin
usermin


I need to install ISPConfig on the captioned mail server and could not find the package on repo NOR relevant tutorial on googling. Please advise whether it is not available on repo. I have to install it on;

http://www.ispconfig.org/

where can I find its installation manual?


The necessity installing ISPConfig is to follow;

http://www.howtoforge.com/roundcube_webmail_ispconfig


their steps to make roundcube to work. I have it running here but can't make it to work.


TIA


B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2007, 07:16
wpwood3 wpwood3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 197
Thanks: 21
Thanked 31 Times in 21 Posts
Default

If you are running webmin then you cannot install ispconfig. They perform the same task which is system administration. You should pick one or the other.

The ispconfig installation manual can be found here:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
__________________
CentOS 5.4 64bit (the Perfect Setup)
ISPConfig 2.2.40
WP3 Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd December 2007, 09:09
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wpwood3
If you are running webmin then you cannot install ispconfig. They perform the same task which is system administration. You should pick one or the other.

The ispconfig installation manual can be found here:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
Thanks for your advice.

Webmin is running here. It can be evoked with;

https://hostname:10000

and login as root.


However I can't figure out how to perforem step-1 of:-

http://www.howtoforge.com/roundcube_webmail_ispconfig

on Webmin;
Code:
Step 1 - Create a website:

In ISPConfig, create a website via “New site” in the main menu. 
On the tab called “Basis” use webmail for the hostname and 
myhostingcompany.tld for the domain name. Enable MySQL and 
PHP scripts for this website but disable PHP Safe Mode.
Any advice? TIA


satimis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

You must create the website in ISPConfig and not webmin as a website setup with webmin will collide with ISPConfig as wpwood3 pointed out.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:15
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
You must create the website in ISPConfig and not webmin as a website setup with webmin will collide with ISPConfig as wpwood3 pointed out.
Hi till,


I'm a little bid confused here. If I understand wpwood3's advice correctly then I can't run both of them, ISPConfig and Webmin, concurrently. In such situation I won't install the former. But how can I create a website on Webmin to compile Step-1?


B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Quote:
If I understand wpwood3's advice correctly then I can't run both of them, ISPConfig and Webmin, concurrently.
Yes, because both are doing the same configuration and this causes a conflict..

Please have a look at the tutorial that you linked above, it explains clearly that you have to use ISPConfig and not webmin to create the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:34
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Yes, because both are doing the same configuration and this causes a conflict..

Please have a look at the tutorial that you linked above, it explains clearly that you have to use ISPConfig and not webmin to create the website.
Thanks for your advice.


I need webmin and usermin here particularly allowing users to change password remotely. In such a circumstance I have to googling another tutorial. Or switch to Squirrelmail.


satimis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
Thanks for your advice.


I need webmin and usermin here particularly allowing users to change password remotely. In such a circumstance I have to googling another tutorial. Or switch to Squirrelmail.


satimis
Users can do this with ISPConfig as well trough the mailuser login:

https://www.domain.tld:81/mailuser/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd December 2007, 11:37
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Users can do this with ISPConfig as well trough the mailuser login:

https://www.domain.tld:81/mailuser/
https://www.domain.tld:81/mailuser
https://www.domain.com:81/mailuser
https://www.domain.com.tld:81/mailuser

All server not found. What is "tld" here?


I'm running Linus users here NOT virtuall users. Shall I make any change here and how? Thanks.

Besides does it need port 81? If YES, I have to check with ISP whether port 81 has been blocked. My ISP has blocked many ports. I have to calling them to uplift the port which I need.


Edit:

Checked with ISP, port 81 has NOT been blocked


satimis

Last edited by satimis; 3rd December 2007 at 12:35.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd December 2007, 17:57
wpwood3 wpwood3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 197
Thanks: 21
Thanked 31 Times in 21 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
What is "tld" here?

satimis
tld = "Top Level Domain"
Examples - .com, .net, .org, .biz, .gov
__________________
CentOS 5.4 64bit (the Perfect Setup)
ISPConfig 2.2.40
WP3 Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing ISPConfig in the Ubuntu 6.10 Server (Edgy Eft) Linocks Installation/Configuration 5 10th December 2006 05:05
Installing Software on ISPConfig Hans General 1 20th November 2006 20:07
Installing ISPConfig on a SuSE 9 SLES box pborm Installation/Configuration 2 2nd June 2006 10:30
installing ispconfig Kills Mysqld meso129 Installation/Configuration 1 1st April 2006 21:14
PHP for ISPConfig not installing brohism Installation/Configuration 1 8th March 2006 09:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.