#1  
Old 12th December 2009, 20:26
mcaramb mcaramb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PTR Records

OK, I'm missing something here.. as of version 2.2.25 there's supposed to be an interface for setting the server's PTR records in named. Where the heck is it?

Would this be the IP address set under Management->Server->Settings? Right now it's set to the local IP. Would I maybe put the public IP in the IP List below?

My scenario: I've got a local IP for the box and a router doing translation from the public IP. Under ISP Manager I've set the IP's of each domain to the local IP. Under DNS Manager however I've set the IPs to the public address so it will resolve correctly.

Where in all this is the PTR record for the server?

Ideally, I'd prefer one single PTR for the server which is server.xyz.com. Because the only time I use the PTR is when a user uses Horde mail to send out email. Thus, the server.xyz.com is used for all the domains. I'd prefer not to get into a PTR round robin situation. Where everytime a PTR request is made a different domain is resulted.

What I'm confused about is the IP setting under Management->Server->Settings. How does this relate to the IP setting under ISP Manger for the machine's domain name there?

WHich one is the PTR?!?! How do I access it? Do I edit the zone file manually?

Thanks

Mike
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th December 2009, 17:23
mcaramb mcaramb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK... if it was a snake it would have bit me. There's an ADD PTR record button under DNS Manager right next to where it says New Master and New Slave... I was expecting to seethe add PTR record under each individual domain where is also shows add A record, add CNAME, etc... which is why I didn't catch it initially... I feel dumb...

I still would like my other questions answered though concerning which IP settings refer to what... any help?

Thanks
-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th December 2009, 12:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
What I'm confused about is the IP setting under Management->Server->Settings. How does this relate to the IP setting under ISP Manger for the machine's domain name there?
ALL IP Adrrsses that you want to use for a vhost have to be listed in the ip address field.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Server, ISPConfig, Domain name, and problems NYCSavage Server Operation 5 27th November 2009 18:45
BGP company: Reverse PTR records created with the same domain name cstanciu Installation/Configuration 1 23rd July 2008 20:01
This line keeps on showing up in my bind record yurtboy1 Installation/Configuration 5 30th November 2007 13:19
Webalizer isn't working every night FlashOver General 5 20th October 2007 17:57
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 20:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.