Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th December 2007, 10:22
cigraphics cigraphics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pitesti
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation URGENT !!! Problems with LinuxShield on SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9

I have a problem on a server that runs SuSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 with LinuxShield when it loads the components and other services it stops at LinuxShield and it stays like that forever what can i do to stop this service with BootOptions something like noexec=linuxshield or what ?

Last edited by cigraphics; 8th December 2007 at 10:28.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th December 2007, 10:39
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

I do not use the McAfee Linux shield myself but i found this for you:

To stop it: /etc/init.d/nails stop <enter>
To start it: /etc/init.d/nails start <enter>

I hope that might help you.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th December 2007, 10:52
cigraphics cigraphics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pitesti
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the problem is that it doesn't load at all and the only solution is to reinstall ( impossible is from the school ) or to kill this process from starting up with the Boot Options

From here the only thing that i can do is to restart Ctrl Alt Del

Last edited by cigraphics; 8th December 2007 at 10:57.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th December 2007, 11:05
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Mcafee LinuxShield requires a complete rebuild of the Linux kernel and because i am not an expert with Linux Shield, i can't help you any further at this point.
(I don't want to break your system).
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th December 2007, 11:11
cigraphics cigraphics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pitesti
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i want to stop it from the Boot Options to skip the start of LinuxShield that might solve the problem

Last edited by cigraphics; 8th December 2007 at 11:14.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th December 2007, 14:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Which bootloader do you use? GRUB or lilo?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th December 2007, 14:03
cigraphics cigraphics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pitesti
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think that it uses GRUB it set by default from the instalation i didn't installed this sistem it was brought like that from school
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th December 2007, 08:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's in /boot/grub/menu.lst?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2007, 09:44
cigraphics cigraphics is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pitesti
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i can't access that have a loot at the picture i posted it freezes there
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th December 2007, 09:48
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
 
Default

TRy CTRL+ALT+F2 to open a new terminal screen and login as root.
If you're successful, post the output of the file Falko has requested.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware Server on Linux Host (CentOS?) BlahBlah Suggest HOWTO 10 13th February 2010 03:16
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53
Linux Home Server dansaycool Installation/Configuration 2 19th December 2006 18:45
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30
Whitebox Enterprise Linux 4.0 and IBM xs336 sanjay Installation/Configuration 1 7th October 2005 03:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.