Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th September 2007, 18:35
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default about terms on co-location

Hi folks,


Colocation is complete new to me. Because of the speed limit of the broadband in my house and unaviabily of DSL I have to conisder co-location.

Please shed me some light on negotiating terms with the Colo company;

- do I need to purchase a rack from the colo company to install my server
- electricity - is it central supply and I don't need installing power-supply on the server
- can I make access to my server in day time for repair
- is there speed limit on the broadband connection to my server
- what other terms I have to pay attention to
etc.


TIA


B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th September 2007, 20:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
- do I need to purchase a rack from the colo company to install my server
Normally not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
- electricity - is it central supply and I don't need installing power-supply on the server
Your server needs a power supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
- can I make access to my server in day time for repair
Ask your hosting company about this. Normally this should be possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by satimis
- is there speed limit on the broadband connection to my server
Normally 100MBit/s, but you better ask the hosting company.

But maybe it's cheaper to simply rent a server, e.g. from here: http://www.hetzner.de/rootserver_en.html
The big advantage is that if the hardware fails, the hosting company replaces it for free.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th November 2007, 08:30
Technojeff Technojeff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Yeah i think the best idea is to rent a server when you are not quite ready to handle everything by yourself. It's what i did when i moved into a new apartment with some friends and it worked out pretty good.

It's sure that it's always better to run it yourself if you are able to though, so if you can take the time to get ready, there is always a lot of info on the web.
__________________
Rpg games download
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New user directory location xyanide Installation/Configuration 9 31st July 2007 13:39
relaying denied from your location gabykh Installation/Configuration 12 20th July 2007 15:42
FTP sends files to the wrong location tyson General 4 12th February 2007 16:59
PHPMyAdmin location unixfox Installation/Configuration 1 13th November 2006 18:31
How to change location? Brenton Installation/Configuration 1 16th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.