Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th November 2007, 07:23
dbrooke dbrooke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: wisconsin, USA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Gutsy Gibbon Perfect Server - Vhosts and Proftpd

Hello,

I have a couple specific questions about some non-standard (to ISPC) configs.

I wanted PROFTPD's root to be /

I also wanted Apache's Root to be /home/

For PROFTPD, I was able to achieve this by editing the proftpd_ispconfig.conf file at the top where it says:

DefaultAddress 127.x.x.x

I reset that line to: 10.0.1.200 (my LAN IP to the server)

That, and setting the proftpd.conf ServerRoot to "/" is letting me log in with the appropriate user and access the entire server with ftp.

The problem is that the proftpd_ispconfig.conf file is overwritten every time I make an edit in the ISPconfig admin. Is there a way to set that localhost address in the ISPconfig admin to the 10.x.x.x number?

My second problem is with the Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file in ..apache2>Vhosts>

I want the document root of the main server to be /home (instead of the default (I think /var/www/web2/www/). So I found I can change the top lines of this file to (DocumentRoot /home):

NameVirtualHost 10.0.1.200:80
<VirtualHost 10.0.1.200:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin <myemail>
DocumentRoot /home
</VirtualHost>

Which works just fine. Now the apache root is /home/ just like I want it. However, the same thing above... when I change a site in the ISPconfig admin, it reverts this file to it's default, and I can't seem to figure out how to change this info in the ISPConfig admin to reflect what I need (as in above).

Thanks for the help!

Donovan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th November 2007, 08:37
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,213 Times in 4,088 Posts
 
Default

You can not use ISPConfig with a different folder layout.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.