#1  
Old 9th November 2007, 17:34
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Raid1 advice needed.

Hello all I have an issue with a server I have built and I'm after some advice on what my options are to fix this issue .I have set up 2 x 120gb sata drives with 4 partitions on each /boot , /root , /vserver and swap with software raid and lvm and followed the etch perfect setup with xen .All went well and i have a couple of virtual servers running without a problem .That was until i simulated a drive failure.I could not get the system to boot from sdb,i did a little reading and found i needed to install grub on sdb ,which i did still with no luck .What I think the problem is ,is when i initially set up the drives i havnt setup the boot partition to use raid 1,all the others are setup using raid 1 ,not sure why i didnt set them all up do this ,and here lies my question .Can the /boot partitons be converted to raid 1 so they mirror and the server will be able to continue with either drive if a failure occurs .Thanks for any info you can give.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th November 2007, 15:03
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello again . There must be some information that can be given relating to this ? have I not explained my issue clearly enough ? Would it be reasonable to say that it would be easier to set up two new drives using software raid1 (on all partitions this time) and lvm and then copy all the old partitions to the relative partitions on the new raided drives ?
thanks for help that can be given .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th November 2007, 14:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Right now I can't help you, but I've added this to my ToDo list (writing a howto about this boot issue).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2007, 16:15
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks falko i will be keen to read the howto ,in the mean time i will try and work out how i can correct or overcome this issue so i can continue with the server upgrade .thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th November 2007, 02:17
archerjd archerjd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Cool

Hey ubutux,

Your right about having to install grub on sdb, but you also have to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add a second menu item that specifies sdb to boot from.
Then you set the second menu item to default to if the first menu item fails.

Here is a good document I found after much research that I have bookmarked.
http://www200.pair.com/mecham/raid/r...aded-etch.html
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to archerjd For This Useful Post:
ubutux (17th November 2007)
  #6  
Old 17th November 2007, 02:42
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up

Cheers Archerjd that info is great ,i had a quick glance and it looks like the info i have been looking for .i havnt got time now ,but i will go through it in detail shortly.I think my main problem is that the /boot partition is not mirrored and wondered if it was possible to change the /boot partition to raid1 while the server was up,this server is not in production yet .I'm upgrading my current servers to virtual servers which this machine im playing with now will form the main physical server.So i want to get it set up right and make sure i can recover from disasters . Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th November 2007, 02:54
archerjd archerjd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

No problem.
If the /boot partition is not raided then this document should really help.
I know it did for me when I had to convert a linux firewall to raid 1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
Software RAID1 + LVM on FC5 Daisy Installation/Configuration 3 6th February 2007 13:47
hardware RAID1 and new HDD's edge Installation/Configuration 1 4th June 2006 15:28
xen + raid1 aqua HOWTO-Related Questions 10 2nd April 2006 23:08
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.