#1  
Old 4th May 2006, 00:25
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default cgi not working

this script I've tried to use on my debian system:
..
<!--#exec cgi="/cgi-bin/hello_world.pl" -->
..

but I get no output.

CGI Scripte: yes
Standard CGIs: yes
SSI: yes

Suexec: yes

Why I don't get any output?

tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th May 2006, 07:41
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,692
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,319 Times in 4,172 Posts
Default

Have you tried the test files?

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=171
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th May 2006, 18:39
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
yes, the SSI file and the PHP file works but the CGI does not.

tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th May 2006, 11:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Did you place the CGI file in the cgi-bin directory and make it executable (
Code:
chmod 755 hello_world.pl
)?
Do you use suExec?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th May 2006, 12:14
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Did you place the CGI file in the cgi-bin directory and make it executable (
Code:
chmod 755 hello_world.pl
)?
yes

Quote:
Do you use suExec?
yes, if I deactivate suExec it works.

How do I get suExec and cgi working?
Or is there an another way to use two php versions like php4 and php5 together?

tom

Last edited by tom; 5th May 2006 at 12:22.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th May 2006, 20:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
yes, if I deactivate suExec it works.
Ah, good to know...
Please post the output of
Code:
ls -la /path/to/hello_world.pl
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
Or is there an another way to use two php versions like php4 and php5 together?

tom
suExec has nothing to do with PHP (that is, if you run PHP as mod_php in your Apache which is the normal way).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th May 2006, 11:31
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Ah, good to know...
Please post the output of
Code:
ls -la /path/to/hello_world.pl
sarge01:~# ls -al /home/www/web4/cgi-bin/hello_world.pl
-rwxr-xr-x 1 web4_admin web4 379 2006-05-03 23:19 /home/www/web4/cgi-bin/hello_world.pl

I've found that hint from the perfect setup infos:
Later during the installation you are asked if the default directory /home/www should be the directory where ISPConfig will create websites in. Answer n and enter /var/www as the home directory for websites.
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge_p5

So I've not choosen /var/www. that seems to be the reason. Right?
But how can I change it now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
suExec has nothing to do with PHP (that is, if you run PHP as mod_php in your Apache which is the normal way).
I now :-) that was a new question which asked: Is there another way to get two PHP versions running on one apache without using cgi features?

tom

Last edited by tom; 6th May 2006 at 11:39.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th May 2006, 12:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
So I've not choosen /var/www. that seems to be the reason. Right?
Yes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
But how can I change it now?
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...r%2Fwww+suexec
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...r%2Fwww+suexec



Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
Is there another way to get two PHP versions running on one apache without using cgi features?
No. You must run one PHP as CGI and the other as Apache module.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th May 2006, 17:59
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko


Quote:
So I've not choosen /var/www. that seems to be the reason. Right?
Yes.
What is the reasen that the installscript does not use /var/www as default path?
Are there other problems if I use /var/www for suexec?

tom
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th May 2006, 18:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
What is the reasen that the installscript does not use /var/www as default path?
There's no special reason. Some distributions create the biggest partition on /home, that's all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
Are there other problems if I use /var/www for suexec?
No.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perl and cgi script installation linuxuser1 General 30 26th April 2006 23:09
Mail from web forms not working. Brenton General 5 1st April 2006 14:02
Internet/lan-only lan working Nejko Installation/Configuration 39 19th January 2006 15:32
Centos 4.2 CGI error redhatlover Server Operation 12 31st December 2005 15:34
Ispconfig cgi hosting Mahir General 6 21st November 2005 15:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.