#1  
Old 1st November 2007, 14:48
rkeusch rkeusch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MX Problem

hello together

i have the following mx problem.
i have to domains one is domain-name.net and the other is domainname.net. the difference is just the "-".
now i have create a mx record mail.domain-name.net. but i'm not able to create also an mx record for mail.domainname.net! ispconfig says always "This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone.". but in zone file is nothing! is there a problem with ispconfig?

(there is also nothing in the recycle bin!)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st November 2007, 15:11
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Did you have a look in both recycle bins?
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st November 2007, 15:39
rkeusch rkeusch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i checked all recycle bins... nothing there.
i believe it is not a problem that the entry is already there. i think it is a problem that ispconfig believe domain-name.net and domainname.net is the same.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd November 2007, 13:46
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,791
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
i think it is a problem that ispconfig believe domain-name.net and domainname.net is the same.
No. ISPConfig tests for identical strings, so there must be a MX record somewhere.

If you open the primary DNS record settings for domainname.net and open the records tab. Is there nay record listed in the MX record list?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th November 2007, 20:32
rkeusch rkeusch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

it works now! but i don't no why.
there was no entry in den second domainname, i added this new.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix problems with smtp linkdeb Server Operation 13 15th March 2014 18:58
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
Weird problem when sending email from a PHP form. edge Installation/Configuration 5 5th September 2006 17:57
Postfix+MySQL Problem jasutton Installation/Configuration 1 15th June 2006 17:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.