Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th December 2005, 20:30
rodriglm rodriglm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Mirroring ISPConfig with DRBD

I have two servers that im trying to cluster togheter for high availability, and i am having trouble replicating all the ISPConfig data.

We installed ispconfig on both servers from the /home/install_ispconfig. This because /home is the directory we will be mounting for data replication using drbd. We are also using ultramonkey for the heartbeat.

With only the heartbeat running (drbd is not running) we can get to the ispconfig admin login page and log in, on a virtual ip created with the heartbeat config files.

When we take node1 offline, node2 comes on and picks up a little later and works fine.
So far so good.

Now, we enter information in ispconfig, create some websites, email users... in node1 and we want the data to replicate to node2. We start drbd mount our mirrored devices and again we are able to reach ispconfig page, log in, we can get to webmail, etc... everything works good. This with node1 as primary and node2 secondary.

Then, we take node1 offline, do the process needed to mount the mirrored device on node2 and make it primary, and all of the sudden nothing works.

My take on it is that we need to mirror other directories that hold the websites, email, webpages, etc.... that are not being mirrored.

Now, my question is, does anyone know what directories to mirror to get this to work?
Will i have to do the changes that i do to ispconfig on both servers? cause, that kind of defeats the purpose.

I would appreciate any information that anyone can give me.

Thank you....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th December 2005, 20:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,546 Posts
Default

You should also mirror the config files of Apache, your FTP server, Postfix/Sendmail, Bind, etc... Also /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow, the MySQL databases, the directory where ISPconfig creates the web sites in (this is /home/www by default, unless you chose something different during installation).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
feeninuoumn (17th December 2013)
  #3  
Old 14th December 2005, 20:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,647
Thanks: 794
Thanked 5,003 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default

Generally, ISPConfig configures the services like apache, bind postfix etc. trough their config files. If you want to mirror ISPConfig, you will have to mirror these config files and the ISPConfig mySQL database too. The config files are:

Vhost_ispconfig.conf (in /etc/apache/vhosts or similar)
/etc/passwd, /etc/shadow, /etc/group /etc/gshadow
named.conf and all the include files.
/etc/postfix/local-host-names
/etc/postfix/virtusertable
/etc/proftpd_ispconfig.conf

problematic might be the system quotas too.
I dont know what happened to the apache logfiles for ISPConfig, written in /var/log/httpd/ and the proftpd xfer.log

If you switch to the second server, any service must take care that the services on this server has loaded / reloaded their config files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th December 2005, 21:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,647
Thanks: 794
Thanked 5,003 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default

Maybe this is an interesting solution for ISPConfig high availability.

http://www.openssi.org

But I#ve not tested it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th December 2005, 21:49
rodriglm rodriglm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info, i will try to implement it. Also, in case we need to consider openssi, does anyone know if the RH 9 version works on FC4?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd January 2006, 12:48
heyp heyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vienna
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Anyone already tested ispconfig with openssi?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig Roadmap till General 34 12th March 2009 11:19
cannot access ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 13 3rd January 2009 15:29
How can I get PHP to work after ISPConfig Install alvadore Installation/Configuration 22 30th March 2008 15:57
Running ISPConfig on a vserver? tron Installation/Configuration 4 8th December 2005 10:35
ISPConfig Devel Report. till Developers' Forum 3 27th November 2005 15:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.