Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 28th May 2006, 12:00
markes markes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got that message linux-r1rn:/home/mk # dmraid -ay -i
ERROR: dos: reading /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh[No such file or directory] ,too. But this was because of an old dmraid version. With the new version of dmraid-1.0.0rc11-pre1.tar.bz2 i still have no problems.

/var/log/messages:
May 21 07:44:32 linux-r1rn kernel: device-mapper: dm-stripe: Target length not divisible by chunk size
May 21 07:44:32 linux-r1rn kernel: device-mapper: error adding target to table

Last edited by markes; 28th May 2006 at 12:04.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 28th May 2006, 22:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

I found this regarding your problem:
http://www.redhat.com/archives/atara.../msg00005.html
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-2557.html
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=377346
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 28th June 2006, 19:01
WEARENOTALONE WEARENOTALONE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,
thanks to crushton, markes and maaki (from www.linux-club.de) finally i just managed to install Suse Linux 10.1 on my FakeRAID! Because i had some problems with the ways provided here i wrote another guide (german language only) how i did it.

Installation von Suse Linux 10.1 auf FakeRAID.zip
Installation von Suse Linux 10.1 auf FakeRAID.tar.gz

Sincerely yours,
WEARENOTALONE

Last edited by WEARENOTALONE; 29th June 2006 at 11:26.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 2nd July 2006, 08:35
lt_wentoncha lt_wentoncha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm,

From a fresh install, can't you setup RAID 1 from there? In setting up the initial system partitions, can't you set it so that /boot is mounted on a normal partition and format two identical partitions on two separate HDDs as Linux RAID and using the RAID utility thereafter? Atleast that's what I did...
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 2nd July 2006, 09:54
WEARENOTALONE WEARENOTALONE is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Like splitting the RAID 1, installing and setting up (incl. dmraid) Linux to the first (primary) HDD and finally rebuilding the mirrored RAID 1?

For RAID 1 that is probably true, but you can not do that with RAID 0. For me it was much faster to install Linux to a seperate HDD, because i already had one extra HDD built-in and i did not have to rebuild my RAID.

Sincerely yours,
WEARENOTALONE
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 16th January 2009, 19:40
gelah3 gelah3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Markes, could you please post a "/sbin/mkinird" script for openSUSE 11.1?

This is the first time I installed Linux on this Intel ICH9R sofRAID system, but need updated version of this howto. If anybody has one for openSUSE 11.1 please share with us.

One more question is: what line of /etc/mkinitrd on a runnning Linux should I put the "dmraid" script to have openSUSE recognize my Vista Device Mapper at boot time?

I have a strange situation that I can only boot with floppy but also disk order changes on the fly. GRUB knows disk order at boot time but OS changes all disks to non-raid. I put dmraid -ay in /etc/init.d/boot.local to access Vista.

I have fair amount of knowledge with Linux but I'm not good with programming logics. Please reply, this is my first post in this list.

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.