Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 29th March 2006, 05:25
oL'z oL'z is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I don't know if this goes here-but it is "fake"

Fake Raid? LVM in SuSe 10 64-bit on LP UT nf3 UD
2-WD 75GB on SATA 1-2
Do not enable raid in bios-Grub no LiLo
setup 3 partitions on each drive, mirror
sda1 native 1-13 boot ext2
sda2 swap 14-275 swap
sda3 LVM 276-9728
sdb1 native 1-13 boot ext2
sdb2 swap 14-275 swap
sdb3 LVM 276-9728
system 144GB LVM2 2-stripe 64k
system/root/LV xfs

YAST does most of the work in expert mode
You can add drives, backup, and boot with rescue media.
Some of this is covered here some here some here
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 20th April 2006, 23:32
fpereira fpereira is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default LSI megaraid

I have recently installed following a similar procedure in a server with lsi megaraid and noted very high load that seems to be caused by kmirrord process.

Anyone have experience with LSI megaraid & kernel 2.6?

The machine still doesnt't boot. Will solve the "grep: command not found" tomorrow.

Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21st April 2006, 11:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpereira
Will solve the "grep: command not found" tomorrow.

Thanks for the info.
You must install the grep package.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15th May 2006, 10:41
schlocke schlocke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Some helpfull tips

hi,
I had the same problems installtion Suse 10 on my raid. But with Suse 10.1 there is a better way:

While installing, switch to the console an type:
dmraid -an
modprobe dm-mirror
dmraid -ay -i

now you can list your raid volumes:
ls /dev/mapper/

or you can edit the partitions on this raid:
fdisk /dev/mapper/<raiddevice>
for example:
fdisk /dev/mapper/nvidia_jhadcged

Next step: Use the yast partition manager and re-read the partition table. Now there is a new drive /dev/dm-3 or similar.
This drive can not be edited or re-partitioned. You have to do this before with fdisk.
Do NOT mount anything from your native drives (e.g. sda or sdb) because there are now "busy" and can't be used.

Next problem apears while installing the bootloader grub: It seems there is a bug resolving the drive name, so you must edit the parameters by hand. Instead /dev/sda use /dev/mapper/<your raid device>. Edit the device map and replace (hd0) with /dev/mapper/<your raid device>.
Edit menu.lst and replace (/dev/dm-,-1) with (dev/mapper/<your raid device>,<your linux partition number>). See grub manual for details.

After Installation you can't boot from this volume, because dm-mirror is not loaded and dmraid not active. So you must boot from CD and create your own initrd, see the first topic in this thread. After this everything should work fine.

Question to the others: mkinitrd seems to be changed, so the line numbers do not match. Anybody knows the best places??
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 15th May 2006, 15:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schlocke
Question to the others: mkinitrd seems to be changed, so the line numbers do not match. Anybody knows the best places??
What line numbers?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 20th May 2006, 11:47
MoonenW MoonenW is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to MoonenW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schlocke
hi,
I had the same problems installtion Suse 10 on my raid. But with Suse 10.1 there is a better way:

While installing, switch to the console an type:
dmraid -an
modprobe dm-mirror
dmraid -ay -i

now you can list your raid volumes:
ls /dev/mapper/

or you can edit the partitions on this raid:
fdisk /dev/mapper/<raiddevice>
for example:
fdisk /dev/mapper/nvidia_jhadcged

Next step: Use the yast partition manager and re-read the partition table. Now there is a new drive /dev/dm-3 or similar.
This drive can not be edited or re-partitioned. You have to do this before with fdisk.
Do NOT mount anything from your native drives (e.g. sda or sdb) because there are now "busy" and can't be used.

Next problem apears while installing the bootloader grub: It seems there is a bug resolving the drive name, so you must edit the parameters by hand. Instead /dev/sda use /dev/mapper/<your raid device>. Edit the device map and replace (hd0) with /dev/mapper/<your raid device>.
Edit menu.lst and replace (/dev/dm-,-1) with (dev/mapper/<your raid device>,<your linux partition number>). See grub manual for details.

After Installation you can't boot from this volume, because dm-mirror is not loaded and dmraid not active. So you must boot from CD and create your own initrd, see the first topic in this thread. After this everything should work fine.

Question to the others: mkinitrd seems to be changed, so the line numbers do not match. Anybody knows the best places??
I don't understand this.
Does this mean that I should be able to use a NVRAID-0 set build with WinXP as a boot device for Suse Linux 10.1 ?
And if not, do you know how this can be done - if at all?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 22nd May 2006, 00:06
markes markes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Howto suse 10.1

FakeRaid for SuSe 10.1 is working fine!

I hope my way is more easier for you.


First of all install windows on your raid disk, because otherwise it will overwrite the bootloader.

You have to change all following enters to your system required configuration!

-Take an old ata hard disk and install the new suse10.1 on it.
in Yast also install the GCC-C++packet
Download the dmraid-1.0.0rc11-pre1.tar.bz2 from http://people.redhat.com/~heinzm/sw/dmraid/tst/
(Warning older versions are not working for the 2.6.16.13 kernel, the dmraid 0.99_1.0.0rc8-12 package included in the suse10.1 also isn´t working)

-Shut down system and strip on your raid disk, start suse10.1 from your old hard disk.
Log in as root, extract your downloaded dmraid, change into dmraid folder, open console and type the following:

„./configure“
„make“
„cp -f /tools/dmraid /sbin/dmraid“
„modprobe dm-mod“
„tools/dmraid -ay -i“
„ls /dev/mapper“

now you should have an output like control via_bdeaacdjjh

-create your partitons
„fdisk /dev/mapper/via_bdeaaccdjjh
create one swap and one reiserfs partition

this is for example my partition table:
linux:/home/mk # fdisk /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh

Die Anzahl der Zylinder für diese Platte ist auf 38914 gesetzt.
Daran ist nichts verkehrt, aber das ist größer als 1024 und kann
in bestimmten Konfigurationen Probleme hervorrufen mit:
1) Software, die zum Bootzeitpunkt läuft (z. B. ältere LILO-Versionen)
2) Boot- und Partitionierungssoftware anderer Betriebssysteme
(z. B. DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Befehl (m für Hilfe): p

Platte /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh: 320.0 GByte, 320083770368 Byte
255 Köpfe, 63 Sektoren/Spuren, 38914 Zylinder
Einheiten = Zylinder von 16065 × 512 = 8225280 Bytes

Gerät boot. Anfang Ende Blöcke Id System
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh1 * 1 1020 8193118+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh2 1021 36715 286720087+ f W95 Erw. (LBA)
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh3 36716 36862 1180777+ 82 Linux Swap / Solaris <- my swap device
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh4 36863 38914 16482690 83 Linux <-my root device
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh5 1021 3570 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh6 3571 6120 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh7 6121 18868 102398278+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh8 18869 31616 102398278+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh9 31617 36575 39833136 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh10 36576 36715 1124518+ b W95 FAT32


-format your partions:
„mkswap /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh3
„mkreiserfs /dev/mappper/via_bdeaacdjjh4

-mount your new suse10.1 root partition
„mkdir /mnt/suse10.1“
„mount -t reiserfs /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh4 /mnt/suse10.1“

-start yast and under software choose Installation into Directory
change the target directory to /mnt/suse10.1
Check Run Yast and SuseConfig on first start
the warning with /suse/i586/kernel-default-2.6.16.13-4i586.rpm you can ignore


-after the installation process have finished open the kernel file
type „vi /etc/sysconfig/kernel“ in console
press the insert key and change „INITRD_MODULES=“sata_via via 82cxxx processor thermal fan“ in „INITRD_MODULES=“sata_via via 82cxxx processor thermal fan dm-mod“
press ESC
„:w“
„:q“

-take my mkinird extract it and copy it to /sbin/mkinitrd
type „mkinitrd“ in console
copy some files:
„cp -R -T /boot/grub/ /mnt/suse10.1/boot/grub“
„cp /boot/initrd-2.6.16.13-4-default /mnt/suse10.1/boot/initrd-2.6.16.13-4-default“
„cp /boot/initrd /mnt/suse10.1/boot/initrd“
„cp /sbin/dmraid /mnt/suse10.1/sbin/dmraid“
„cp /sbin/mkinitrd /mnt/suse10.1/sbin/mkinitrd“
„cp /etc/sysconfig/kernel /mnt/suse10.1/etc/sysconfig/kernel“
„cp /etc/fstab /mnt/suse10.1/etc/fstab“

-modify the files device.map and menu.lst in your /mnt/suse10.1/boot/grub/ dir
modify fstab in your /mnt/suse10.1/sbin/ dir

-grub
switch to console and type „grub“
„device (hd0,3) /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh4
„device (hd0) /dev/mapper/via_bdeaacdjjh
„geometry (hd0) 38914 255 63
„root (hd0,3)“
„setup (hd0)“

-shut down system and put away your old hard disk. boot system, after the yast procedure log in as root and open initab
„vi /etc/initab“
press insert key
change „id:3:initdefault:“ into „id:5:initdefault:“
press ESC
„:w“
„:q“

-Reboot your system.

-Don´t forget to change your installation source!
put in your first suse10.1 cd and open yast, ad installation source, cd, the same with your add on cd.

-I have also attached my fstab, device.map and menu.lst.

Goood luck!
Attached Files
File Type: zip mkinitrd.ZIP (22.8 KB, 514 views)
File Type: zip fstab.ZIP (482 Bytes, 443 views)
File Type: zip device.map.ZIP (193 Bytes, 461 views)
File Type: zip menu.lst.ZIP (566 Bytes, 481 views)

Last edited by markes; 23rd May 2006 at 06:41.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27th May 2006, 18:23
mamat_fr mamat_fr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi,
i have an error (with the Suse 10.1):
ERROR: dos: reading /dev/mapper/sil_agafdjcaceaj[Invalid argument]
i have compiled dmraid-1.0rc11-pre1 with no problems
anyone have an idea ?
whereas for the suse10.0 this method work fine.
thank
Mamat
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27th May 2006, 21:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

When do you get that error?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27th May 2006, 21:53
mamat_fr mamat_fr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
When do you get that error?
just after the compilation of dmraid when i try do discover the partition
when i type ./tools/dmraid -ay -i : i have this message : ERROR: dos: reading /dev/mapper/sil_agafdjcaceaj[Invalid argument]
but with the suse 10.0 i haven't this problem

Last edited by mamat_fr; 27th May 2006 at 21:59.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.