Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:21
mantasman mantasman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Few questions about Fedora core 4 perfect setup +

hi, i setuped my first server ever using fedora core 4 perfect setup.
most things seems to be fine. apache/php w/ virtual servers works, bind works, mysql works too. and mysql based pure-ftpd works too.
but i cant solve two things:

1. i installed quota as written. added lines into /etc/fstab. but if i run quotacheck -avugm i get:
quotacheck: Can't find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.
what would be bad if i wont use quotas? as i see, ftp quotas already works. i cant upload more than allowed. and file limit works too.
or how can i fix that?

2. how could i create email accounts, forwarders, catch-all inboxes? or maybe i should switch to mysql-based accounts? i think i'll host up to 800 pop3 mailboxes or forwarders under amd athlon 3200+ server with 2gb of ram.
i'll create/edit them very rarely so i think i can manage them trough pure command line

and few questions related to that HOWTO:

1. which is safer: enable php safe_mod or use open_basedir and jail each user into it's virtualhost?

2. is there any easy ways to ask for authethification to view webalizer stats and allow each user see it's statistics only?

p.s. sorry for my poor english :/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantasman
1. i installed quota as written. added lines into /etc/fstab. but if i run quotacheck -avugm i get:
quotacheck: Can't find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.
what would be bad if i wont use quotas? as i see, ftp quotas already works. i cant upload more than allowed. and file limit works too.
or how can i fix that?
If this already works, quota is working. Maybe you added quota in /etc/fstab to other filesystems too?

Quote:
2. how could i create email accounts, forwarders, catch-all inboxes? or maybe i should switch to mysql-based accounts? i think i'll host up to 800 pop3 mailboxes or forwarders under amd athlon 3200+ server with 2gb of ram.
i'll create/edit them very rarely so i think i can manage them trough pure command line
Email account setup is all included in ISPConfig.

1) Add a client.
2) Add a website.
3) Go on the email tab of the website and add as many email users to the site that you need.

800 email users accounts is ok for your hardware.



Quote:
and few questions related to that HOWTO:

1. which is safer: enable php safe_mod or use open_basedir and jail each user into it's virtualhost?
Check the "php safemode" checkbox in ISPConfig and ISPConfig configures this for you. If you want additional security you can consider running PHP as CGI with suExec enabled.

Quote:
2. is there any easy ways to ask for authethification to view webalizer stats and allow each user see it's statistics only?
This is also configured automatically by ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantasman
1. i installed quota as written. added lines into /etc/fstab. but if i run quotacheck -avugm i get:
quotacheck: Can't find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.
what would be bad if i wont use quotas? as i see, ftp quotas already works. i cant upload more than allowed. and file limit works too.
or how can i fix that?
What's in /etc/fstab?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mantasman
2. how could i create email accounts, forwarders, catch-all inboxes? or maybe i should switch to mysql-based accounts? i think i'll host up to 800 pop3 mailboxes or forwarders under amd athlon 3200+ server with 2gb of ram.
i'll create/edit them very rarely so i think i can manage them trough pure command line
If you don't use ISPConfig and want to create email accounts on the command line, have a look at this thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2

If you want to use virtual users, you can try to adjust this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/virtual_po..._quota_courier to Fedora.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th January 2006, 22:22
mantasman mantasman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

thanks for fast replies.

i prefer not using ISPConfig because i want to learn how to administrate linux servers and i'm gentoo-guy so i think that you will never have unknow problems if you'll do everything "by hands"

i'd like to use that postfix+mysql_courier+blahblahblah tutorial but it's for debian and apt-get for fedora doesnt have such packets (i use 3 sources, provided in fc4 perfect setup howto) :/

anyway, i'll try to follow that tutorial tomorrow. or use this one:
http://www.postfix.org/VIRTUAL_README.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IMAP doesn't work..as i followed the Perfect Setup for Fedora 4 asokaajay Server Operation 11 10th June 2007 14:57
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 12:23
The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 amdserver HOWTO-Related Questions 42 9th November 2005 13:48
The Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 Proftpd error Nu2Linux HOWTO-Related Questions 3 29th October 2005 20:26
Quota: Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 domino Installation/Configuration 7 20th August 2005 17:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.