Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th October 2007, 10:07
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default A couple of DNS queries with ISPConfig

Ok the situation is:

2 full public nameserver names that point to 2 of my public ip addresses (ie ns1... and ns2....)

Running a Debian 4.0 server as per the setup guide. Server set with 2 local ip addresses and using a Juniper netscreen I have mip the same 2 public ips to the local ips of my server and forwarded all the ports needed.

This is working because I can ssh and port 80/81 to my server using the public addresses.

I have a bunch of domains that I have pointed directly to my nameservers (ie my servers will handle all DNS for those domains)

So I added the site into ISPConfig and assigned it to the local ip address.

And that doesnt work.... if you do a nslookup to on www.chesterfieldathletics.org.uk it resolves to the local ip address of my server not the public one.

Contents of ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:66:55:71
inet addr:192.168.8.5 Bcast:192.168.8.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe66:5571/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:16934 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11119 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2073444 (1.9 MiB) TX bytes:5296023 (5.0 MiB)
Interrupt:177 Base address:0x1400

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:66:55:7B
inet addr:192.168.8.6 Bcast:192.168.8.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe66:557b/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:10068 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6125 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1012340 (988.6 KiB) TX bytes:2417739 (2.3 MiB)
Interrupt:185 Base address:0x1480

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2357 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2357 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:251332 (245.4 KiB) TX bytes:251332 (245.4 KiB)

Contents of resolv.conf

search touchone.co.uk
nameserver 192.168.8.1
nameserver 212.159.6.10
nameserver 212.159.6.9

** 192.168.8.1 = Juniper netscreen 5tg
** 212.159.6.10 .9 = ISP DNS servers

If anyone needs anything else let me know

Thanks
Martin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th October 2007, 11:03
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,703
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,320 Times in 4,173 Posts
Default

The ISP-Manager part and DNS-manager aprt are independant in ISPConfig. You will have to create the DNS-Records with the external IP addresses in the DNS-Manager or modify the existing ones to use the external IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th October 2007, 11:28
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Not sure I know what you mean....

So you would create the new site with the local IP and then go to the DNS-Manager and then change the IP to the public one in the tab "Domain" and "Records".

Thanks
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th October 2007, 11:33
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,703
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,320 Times in 4,173 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
So you would create the new site with the local IP and then go to the DNS-Manager and then change the IP to the public one in the tab "Domain" and "Records".
Yes.

Or you create the site, do not enable the create DNS checkboxes and the create DNS records for the external IP in the DNS-Manager.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th October 2007, 11:50
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

ok so now I get the shared IP error.

What causes this and how can I correct it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th October 2007, 13:33
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
 
Default

Ok scrap that last comment it looks like its working again.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to disable ispconfig dns service robotny Installation/Configuration 4 7th January 2007 11:40
Multiple ISPConfig & DNS Questions and Problems bfriend Installation/Configuration 3 6th January 2007 06:14
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 10:19
ISPConfig on second DNS adriana2100 Installation/Configuration 1 16th September 2006 12:01
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.