Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd October 2007, 01:09
stipeco stipeco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New server DNS questions

I followed the Perfect Fedora 7 setup tutorial and had a great experience once i decided to follow the ISPConfig installation instructions

I am also new to linux but have a great learning curve.

I own the domain "stipeco.com" and have it hosted with netfirms.

I want to host it myself.


My server name is ws1.stipeco.com

i created a client and site for stipeco.com
---------------------
i created 2 A-Records

192.168.0.129 www
192.168.0.129 ws1
---------------------
mailserver

ws1.stipeco.com
---------------------
hostname

stipeco.com
---------------------

i went to my hosting company and tried to change my name server to ws1.stipeco.com but it failed.

i tried to change the name server to my external ip and it failed.

!HELP!

What is the right step to take next?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd October 2007, 08:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

You will have to setup a glue record at netfirms if a subdomain of stipeco.com shall be the nameserver for stipeco.com.

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ht=glue+record

You might also have to get a second server as secondary dns server.

DNS is not that easy if you are new to server management. Maybe you should consider to leave the dns service as a hosted service at netfirms for the beginning.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
stipeco (23rd October 2007)
  #3  
Old 23rd October 2007, 19:20
stipeco stipeco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I read the section that discussed glue records before my original post but was not sure if that was going to apply to me or not. Thank you for your reply.

I created a-record for ws1 with my hosting company

i can reach the server:81 by name

i deleted that a-record with my host and i am again unable to reach it.

that definitely had an impact
recreated a-record with host

by creating this a-record with my host am i in fact creating the glue record?

with it pointing to my server do i still need the a-records that reside on my local server i just set up?
__________________
StipeCo

Last edited by stipeco; 23rd October 2007 at 19:25.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd October 2007, 19:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stipeco
by creating this a-record with my host am i in fact creating the glue record?
It's possible, but I don't know how your hoster's control panel looks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stipeco
with it pointing to my server do i still need the a-records that reside on my local server i just set up?
Yes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
stipeco (25th October 2007)
  #5  
Old 25th October 2007, 05:04
stipeco stipeco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So I understand, if a domain (domain.com) is being hosted by a sub-domain (sub-domain.domain.com), the user gets caught in a loop?

And the only way to make it work is to: make the domain's nameserver point to someone outside your domain, who has a DNS server that has a record that lists your IP with your domain?

I had a backwards understanding of DNS. I thought the purpose was to broadcast your address rather than have points that give directions to your server.

---------------------------------------

I still need my local a-records unless I specify each of them with hosted Name Server?
-Will it cause problems if i keep local and hosted a-records if they are identical?

I probably do need two servers if I want my domain's name server to be local, but, i would still need to have a hosted record for the local name server and a secondary domain name to handle it?


Thanks
__________________
StipeCo

Last edited by stipeco; 25th October 2007 at 05:39.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th October 2007, 10:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
 
Default

In general, your understanding of the DNS problem is correct. But you miss that a nameserver hosts normally hundreds or thousands of domains and only the first domain, the domain were the subdomain is the name of the nameserver itself, needs a glue record.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Hostname & DNS questions... SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 6 16th October 2007 16:32
Possible to install backup DNS or better backup whole ISPconfig server ? Snowman General 1 2nd May 2007 14:01
Some Questions on DNS. eldaria Installation/Configuration 4 23rd April 2006 19:52
DNS Server questions BlueStream Server Operation 2 18th October 2005 18:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.