Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th October 2007, 06:09
lyndros lyndros is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Granada
Posts: 130
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Smile doubt about apache version with ispconfig...

In every update of ispconfig in changelog is visible that apache it has been updated always apache 1.3.X but if ispconfig uses apache 1.3 why it needs apache 2.x to function properly...

i've heard that mysql and php works lots faster with apache 1.3.x, is it possible to install ispconfig with apache 1.3.x only?

thks in advanced...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th October 2007, 12:22
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
 
Default

I think you are misunderstanding a fundamental point. Ispconfig installs it's own version 1.3.X webserver to operate the admin/management interface on port 81. It has absolutely nothing to do with the main web server listening on port 80, other than that it is used to set the configuration of the main server.
One reason for this is that if there is a problem with the configuration or operation of the main web server that you can still access ISPConfig to make changes.
The version of Apache that is used for the main web server is entirely up to you. If you believe strongly that version 1.3.X is much better than 2.2.X then install that on your site before you install ISPConfig.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server with Apache2 / Apache 1.3 (and ISPConfig) akaiser Server Operation 3 8th February 2007 21:26
Can you load balance all ISPConfig Services, including Apache? Jcorrea920 General 6 10th June 2006 00:07
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 23:18
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 01:45
Apache - Virtual hosts - ISPConfig Hans Server Operation 8 23rd April 2006 17:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.