#1  
Old 3rd October 2007, 23:06
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Backuppc and Load Average

I'm using Backuppc for quite a while but there's one issue I was never been able to solve. A very high load average.

top - 22:08:57 up 34 days, 2:38, 1 user, load average: 4.42, 4.45, 4.39
Tasks: 110 total, 7 running, 102 sleeping, 0 stopped, 1 zombie
Cpu(s): 89.0% us, 8.3% sy, 0.0% ni, 2.7% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
Mem: 5076616k total, 5020284k used, 56332k free, 148k buffers
Swap: 4088500k total, 124k used, 4088376k free, 3024432k cached

I added a screenshot. As you can see, after # /etc/init.d/backuppc reload, the Cpu drops to 0% for about 1 hour. After that, back to my high numbers.

The fileserver/backupserver is a Dell Poweredge 2950, Mandriva Powerpack + 2006 with 1GB RAM. I added 4GB so now I'm having 5GB. I was hoping adding more ram would solve this but all remains the same.

Any ideas where to start looking for a sollution?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th October 2007, 16:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Can you see (in the top output) which processes are consuming the most performance?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th October 2007, 17:39
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

My server is going crazy. I made a cronjob every 30 min:
/etc/init.d/backuppc reload > /dev/null

This is the result from top:
top - 16:35:05 up 34 days, 21:04, 1 user, load average: 151.07, 150.45, 148.37
Tasks: 265 total, 2 running, 263 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 1.7% us, 2.7% sy, 0.0% ni, 95.7% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si

I removed the cronjob and reboot the server.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th October 2007, 11:40
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm not sure backuppc is the cause. I see a lot of these:

27747 root 23 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
30522 root 22 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
863 root 20 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
3683 root 22 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
6568 root 24 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
9355 root 22 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
12147 root 23 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
14925 root 22 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
17717 root 24 0 2740 436 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
20503 root 24 0 2740 436 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
23292 root 24 0 2740 436 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
28356 root 22 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
31098 root 24 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
1353 root 23 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
4055 root 24 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
6871 root 23 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
9570 root 23 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
12243 root 22 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
14920 root 22 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
17709 root 23 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
20482 root 24 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
23263 root 24 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
26017 root 23 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
28800 root 23 0 2736 428 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
31587 root 24 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
1918 root 22 0 2736 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
7736 root 23 0 2740 432 356 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 smartctl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th October 2007, 14:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Can you try to switch off smartctl?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th October 2007, 17:36
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Can you try to switch off smartctl?
Stopping smartd failed. I reboot the server without smartd. Now I have to wait for a while to see what will happen. I'll post the result here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2007, 21:23
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Stopping smartd got my server back under control. But there's still a high load average and cpu%.

top - 20:10:44 up 3:38, 1 user, load average: 4.52, 4.40, 4.36
Tasks: 111 total, 5 running, 105 sleeping, 0 stopped, 1 zombie
Cpu(s): 91.2% us, 7.7% sy, 0.0% ni, 1.2% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
Mem: 5076616k total, 358748k used, 4717868k free, 760k buffers
Swap: 4088500k total, 0k used, 4088500k free, 189040k cached

When I stop Backuppc, cpu drops to 0%, load average 0.03
No idea why smartd suddenly gone crazy but backuppc must be the cause.

All I want is to take a nightly backup from 6 servers. 4 remote, 2 in the same office as my backup server.

I think backuppc_dump must be the real cause. Since I only want to take a backup at night, why is there 24/24 a process called backuppc_dump.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th October 2007, 12:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Maybe you should start BackupPC only when you need it (e.g. via cron).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th October 2007, 13:55
Tripple2 Tripple2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Maybe you should start BackupPC only when you need it (e.g. via cron).
I've been thinking about that but this is only a workaround. I want to be able to access backuppc during the day to check logfiles, restore files, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.