Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2007, 19:39
mxc mxc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 91
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to mxc
Default Centos 4.5 switching from clamscan to clamdscan?

Hi all,

I had to switch to clamdscan on my centos 4.5 box. I would did the following:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...0&postcount=10

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=20

When running top I can see clamd running as the service has started. I do not see any spamassassin processes running. I have also started the /etc/init.d/spamd service manually and then it show in "top"

Is this the correct thing to do?

thanks

Mark
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th October 2007, 20:18
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Please do not mix up clamscscan (clamav) and spamassassin as they are different software. If a mail is scanned for viruses, you will not see spamassassin processes as spamassassin scans for spam.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th October 2007, 22:04
mxc mxc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 91
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to mxc
Default

thanks for the reply. So its ok if I do all the other steps except adding /etc/init.d/spamassasin to the default run levels?

I used to see at least 10-20 clamav/spamassasin processes running when doing a top. Now I hardly ever see clamd showing in the processes list for top. It seems to show hardly at all.

Last edited by mxc; 8th October 2007 at 22:12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th October 2007, 10:11
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
So its ok if I do all the other steps except adding /etc/init.d/spamassasin to the default run levels?
Yes, because we just changed clamd and not spamassassin to daemon mode.

Quote:
I used to see at least 10-20 clamav/spamassasin processes running when doing a top. Now I hardly ever see clamd showing in the processes list for top. It seems to show hardly at all.
Clamd is much faster then clamscan, so you will not see the process with top very often.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Install php 5.2.2 on centos 4.5 cape Installation/Configuration 6 12th March 2011 19:08
update version of APR (Apache Portable Runtime) in a CentOS 4.5 bochenn Server Operation 2 8th September 2007 13:33
How to update mySQL and PHP5 on CentOS 4.5 (Final) micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 1 10th August 2007 17:17
CentOs 4.5 Perfect Server ISPConfig install error sird Installation/Configuration 4 25th June 2007 04:35
CentOS 4.5 and IspConfig ghostrider.002 Installation/Configuration 2 20th May 2007 03:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.